Biochemical and Molecular Engineering XVII (BME XVII )

View Full Event Details

Started in 1978, the Biochemical Engineering Conference is the premier venue for unveiling research at the cutting-edge of biological sciences and engineering. The primary goal of this international conference has always been to bring together academic and industrial scientists and engineers from diverse backgrounds to share insights on how to tackle critical problems in biochemical, biomedical and biomolecular engineering. As it enters its fourth decade, BME XVII will showcase progress in emerging frontiers at the forefront of major societal needs. The venue for the meeting will be the beautiful Bell Harbor Conference Center in the heart of Seattle, Washington.

Keynote Presentations

  • Dr. Doug Cameron, Alberti Advisors LLC
  • Biochemical Engineering and the Re-emerging Bio-based Chemical Industry
  • Professor David Baker, University of Washington
  • Design of Folding, Binding and Catalysis

A highlight of the conference will be the two keynote presentations from Dr. Doug Cameron of Alberti Advisors LLC and Prof. David Baker of the University of Washington. Doug Cameron is the Founder and Managing Director at Alberti Advisors LLC and is a prominent scientist, businessman and thought leader in the areas of clean technology and sustainable agriculture. His career has spanned business, finance and academia, including stints at Khosla Ventures, Piper Jaffray, Cargill, Stanford University and the University of Wisconsin, Madison. In 2009, Doug was the recipient of the prestigious Raphael Katzen Award for his contributions in furthering the deployment and commercialization of biotechnology to produce fuels and chemicals from renewable resources. David Baker is an HMMI Investigator and Professor in the University of Washington. He pioneered the Rosetta protein structure modeling platform and harnessed the computing power of Rosetta@home to make significant advances in protein-structure prediction and design. Baker won the AAAS Newcomb Cleveland Prize in 2005 for engineering the novel protein fold Top7. He recently created "Foldit," a multiplayer online protein-folding game.

Conference Chairs

  • François Baneyx

University of Washington
baneyx@uw.edu
Phone +1-206-685-7659

  • Costas Maranas

Penn State University
costas@psu.edu
Phone +1-814-863-9958

  • Beth Junker

Merck & Company
beth.junker@merck.com
Phone +1-732-594-7010

Session Information 

* Biomolecular Engineering of Biofuels and Commodity Chemicals
Jack Newman (Amyris, Inc.) Newman@amyris.com and Brian Pfleger (University of Wisconsin-Madison) pfleger@engr.wisc.edu
* Novel Strategies for Biologics Production
Mariajosé Castellanos (UMBC) mariajose@umbc.edu and Gunther Jagschies (General Electric) Guenter.Jagschies@ge.com
* Bioremediation Approaches for the 21st Century
Wilfred Chen (Univ Calif Riverside) wilfred@engr.ucr.edu and Craig Sandefur (Regenesis) csandefur@regenesis.com
* The Bio-Nano Interface
Pierre Rouviere (Dupont) pierre.e.rouviere@usa.dupont.com and Sang Yup Lee (KAIST) leesy@mbelmail.kaist.ac.kr
* Design of Biomolecular Structures
Scott Banta (Columbia University) sbanta@columbia.edu and Daniela Grabs (Arzeda) daniela.grabs@arzeda.com
* Biomolecular Networks (In honor of Prof. Mike Shuler)
George Georgiou (U. of Texas) gg@che.utexas.edu and Anthony Burgard (Genomatica) aburgard@genomatica.com
* Biomolecular Solutions for Health
Jennifer Maynard (U. of Texas) maynard@che.utexas.edu and TBD
* Cell Differentiation Engineering
Julie Audet (U of Toronto) julie.audet@utoronto.ca and Jane Lebowski (Geron) jleblowski@geron.com
* Engineering Effective Vaccines
Laura A. Palomares (Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México - UNAM, Mexico) laura@ibt.unam.mx and Niranjan Y. Sardesai (Inovio) nsardesai@inovio.com
* Rethinking Process Scale-Up
Jim Swartz (Stanford University) jswartz@stanford.edu and Jason Carstens (Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center) jason.carstens@frontier.com
* Technologies for Accelerating Cell Culture Development
Lars Nielson (University of Queensland) lars.nielsen@uq.edu.au and Chetan Goudar (Bayer) chetan.goudar.b@bayer.com

Conference Support for Academic Researchers & Graduate Students
Depending on the level of external support, conference organizers will provide financial assistance to some academic researchers, graduate students, and post-docs whose abstracts are accepted for presentation. Participants who receive financial assistance are expected to attend the entire conference.

Conference Attendance
Attendance will be limited and by invitation only. For effective interactions of all participants, the conference will be limited to 250 attendees. Invitation will be based on conference participation through chairing a session, poster or oral presentation or other contributions to the conference

If you would like an invitation to attend, please complete and return the electronic Application as soon as possible and no later than February 15, 2011. No more applications will be accepted once the conference is full.

Publication of Abstracts
Abstracts of presentations will be published in the conference program, available to all participants at the time of the conference.

Article Views: 2521

Sign in Area

Please sign in below

Additional Sign In options

Please note that to comment on an article you must be registered and logged in.
Registration is for free, you may already be registered to receive, e.g., the newsletter. When you register on this website, please ensure you view our terms and conditions. All comments are subject to moderation.

Article Comments - To add a comment please sign in

Bookmark and Share

If you would like to reuse any content, in print or online, from ChemistryViews.org, please contact us first for permission. more


CONNECT:

ChemistryViews.org on Facebook

ChemistryViews.org on Twitter ChemistryViews.org on YouTube ChemistryViews.org on LinkedIn Sign up for our free newsletter


A product of ChemPubSoc Europe (16 European Chemical Societies)and Wiley-VCH