Indaba 9

  • Author/Organiser: South African Crystallographic Society (SACrS), Structural Chemistry Commission of the International Union of Crystallography (IUCr)
  • Event Website:
  • Event Date: 02 September 2018 to 07 September 2018
  • Event Type: Conference
  • Venue: Skukuza, Kruger National Park, South Africa

View Full Event Details

The event aims to bring together scientists from around the world, from chemistry, physics, life and materials sciences, crystallographers, theoreticians and spectroscopists, scientists interested in the correlation of structure and function, in dynamics, activity and selectivity. The meeting is aimed at discussing the recent progress of experimental structural methods, structural modeling, the correlation of structures with properties and the prediction of properties and function. In particular, fundamental and new theories and methods, and their application to small molecule activation, energy conversion and storage, and the life sciences will be discussed. 

Selected Speakers

  • Alessia Bacchi, University of Parma, Italy
  • Lee Brammer, University of Sheffield, UK
  • Daniela Bezuidenhout, Univ of the Witwatersrand, South Africa
  • Peter Comba, Heildelberg University, Germany
  • Abishek Day, Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, India
  • Professor Timothy J. Egan, University of Cape Town, South Africa
  • Catharine Esterhuysen, Stellenbosch University, South Africa
  • Manuel Fernandes, University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa
  • Fabrizia Grepioni, Dept of Chemistry, University of Bologna, Italy
  • Delia Haynes, Stellenbosch University, South Africa
  • Karen Hindson, European Journal of Inorganic Chemistry
  • Max Holthausen, University of Frankfurt, Germany
  • Eluvathingal D. Jemmis, IISc Bangalore, India
  • Hiroshi Kitagawa, Kyoto University, Japan
  • Sven Lidin, Lund University, Sweden
  • Orde Munro, University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa
  • Kevin Naidoo, University of Cape Town, South Africa
  • Wonwoo Nam, Ewha Women’s University Seoul, South Korea
  • Melanie Rademeyer, University of Pretoria, South Africa
  • Gopalan Rajaraman, IIT Bombay, India
  • Kallol Ray, Dept of Chemistry, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin; Germany
  • Andre Roodt, University of the Free State, South Africa
  • Yasien Sayed, University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa
  • Wolf-Dieter Schubert, University of Pretoria, South Africa
  • Peter Schwerdtfeger, Massey University, Auckland, New Zealand
  • John C. H. Spence, Arizona State University, USA
  • Dietmar Stalke, University of Göttingen, Germany
  • Antonio Togni, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Willem van Otterlo, Department of Chemistry and Polymer Sciences, Stellenbosch University, South Africa


Article Views: 367

Sign in Area

Please sign in below

Additional Sign In options

Please note that to comment on an article you must be registered and logged in.
Registration is for free, you may already be registered to receive, e.g., the newsletter. When you register on this website, please ensure you view our terms and conditions. All comments are subject to moderation.

Article Comments - To add a comment please sign in

Bookmark and Share

If you would like to reuse any content, in print or online, from, please contact us first for permission. more

CONNECT: on Facebook on Twitter on YouTube on LinkedIn Sign up for our free newsletter

A product of ChemPubSoc Europe (16 European Chemical Societies)and Wiley-VCH