6th EuCheMS Chemistry Congress

  • Author/Organiser: EuCheMS, ANQUE
  • Event Website: http://www.euchems-seville2016.org/
  • Event Date: 11 September 2016 to 15 September 2016
  • Event Type: Conference
  • Venue: FIBES – Seville Conference Centre
  • Associated Societies: EuChemS

View Full Event Details

The event is an opportunity for the European Chemistry community to meet, exchange ideas, explore the state of the art, and debate the key issues underlying chemical science and practice. It is also where the European chemical community congregates and EuCheMS Divisions and sections showcase their research developments and plan future activities. Five Nobel Laureates will participate in the congress offering plenary lectures.

There will be special sessions run by the very active European Young Chemists Network (EYCN). The congress features a program to establish an open dialogue with the public in order to increase their understanding of chemistry, and will open its doors to the general public, schools, and families.
The EYCN also will present the winner of the first European Photography Contest – named Photochimica 2016.

Main Topics

  • Education and Society
  • The Environment, Energy and Sustainability
  • New Chemical Compounds: Synthesis, Methods and Industrial Processes
  • Catalysis, Industry and Applications
  • Materials, Devices and Nanochemistry
  • Properties of Matter
  • Physical, Analytical and Experimental Methods in Chemistry
  • Chemistry in the Life Sciences

Plenary Speakers

  • Avelino Corma (2014 Prince of Asturias Award for Technical and Scientific Research)
  • Ada Yonath (Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2009)
  • Richard R. Schrock (Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2005)
  • Aaron Ciechanover (Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2004)
  • Nazario Martin (University Complutense of Madrid, Spain)
  • Jean-Marie Pierre Lehn (Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1987)
  • Gérad Férey (EuCheMS Lecture Award 2014)
  • Janine Cossy (Laboratoire de Chimie Organique, ESPCI ParisTech, France)
  • Roberta Sessoli (University of Florence, Italy)
  • Ben Feringa (University of Groningen, The Netherlands)

EYCN Program

  • Career Days Program, CV-Clinic and Networking Activities, EYCN Career Days aims to bring soft skills to European young chemists by organizing a satellite event during the Congress. It will be designed in order to advise young chemists about soft skills training needed for a successful career, including lectures about hot topics in chemistry, the art of scientific writing and communicating chemistry, leadership workshops, time management or research funding in Europe.
  • European Young Chemist Award (EYCA) intended to honor and encourage younger chemists whose current research displays a high level of excellence and distinction. It seeks to recognize and reward younger chemists of exceptional ability who show promise for substantial future achievements in chemistry-related research fields.
  • Fun chemistry: An example of extraordinary chemistry as seen in our daily life.
  • Exchange program: Together with the ACS Young Chemists Committee, EYCN will organize an exchange program for American young chemists. This Young Chemists Crossing Borders program is the ideal platform to connect with other young chemists across the globe.
  • John Dalton 250th Birthday Party: Includes presenting a special poster at the "Dalton & Me Poster Session" or a 3-minute oral presentation in the "Dalton Grand Slam Session". Fellows of the Dalton Birthday Party will receive a special diploma and have the chance to win one of the John Dalton Birthday Awards. More information at www.euchems-seville2016.eu. Registration is open untill April 29th.

Scientific Committee

  • Chair
    Peter Edwards
    Cardiff University, UK
  • Co-Chair
    Ernesto Carmona
    Seville University, ES
  • Representative of the Organising Committee
    Carlos Negro
    Madrid Complutense University, ES
  • President EYCN
    Frederique Backaert
    Gent University, BE
  • Evangelia Varella GR
  • Klaus Kümmerer DE
  • Sylviane Sabo-Etienne FR
  • Bob Tooze, Sasol UK
  • Luisa De Cola FR
  • Angela Agostiano IT
  • Gunther Gauglitz DE
  • Péter Mátyus HU
  • Royal Society of Chemistry
    Deirdre Black, UK

Organizing Committee

  • Chair
    Ernesto Castañeda
    ANQUE President
  • Co Chair
    Carlos Negro
    ANQUE Past President
  • Secretary
    Lorenzo Baselga
    ANQUE Technical Secretary
  • Secretary
    Javier Perez Trujillo
    ANQUE General Secretary
  • Treasurer
    Enrique Madrigal
    ANQUE Treasurer
  • Jesús Jiménez
    President RSEQ
  • Elena Domínguez
    President SEQA
  • Carles Bo
    President SCQ
  • Fernando Romero
    President AQA-ANQUE
  • Francesco de Angelis
    EuCheMS Treasurer

ChemPubSoc Europe Activities


Talk to Your Editor



Get Together with Fellows, Editors, Board Members and Young Chemists



Take Part in the Tombola and Win Check out #chemquackers on twitter



Celebrate the ChemPubSocEurope Fellows with Us


Article Views: 9026

Sign in Area

Please sign in below

Additional Sign In options

Please note that to comment on an article you must be registered and logged in.
Registration is for free, you may already be registered to receive, e.g., the newsletter. When you register on this website, please ensure you view our terms and conditions. All comments are subject to moderation.

Article Comments - To add a comment please sign in

If you would like to reuse any content, in print or online, from ChemistryViews.org, please contact us first for permission and consult our permission guidance prior to making your request

Follow on Facebook Follow on Twitter Follow on YouTube Follow on LinkedIn Follow on Instagram RSS Sign up for newsletters

Magazine of Chemistry Europe (16 European Chemical Societies) published by Wiley-VCH