TCR Lecture 2015

  • Author/Organiser: The Chemical Record (TCR)/Wiley-VCH
  • Event Date: 28 March 2015 to 28 March 2015
  • Event Type: Conference
  • Venue: Nihon University, Funabashi Campus (near Chiba/Tokyo), Lecture Room 1421, Bldg No. 14.

The Chemical Record (TCR) Lecture award was initiated in 2002 shortly after the start of the journal The Chemical Record. It has since established itself into a high-profile series with a view to fostering international and interdisciplinary exchange. It takes place annually in Japan as part of the spring meeting of the Chemical Society of Japan (CSJ).

The 2015 TCR Lecturer is Professor Scott J. Miller, Yale University, New Haven, CT, USA. His talk titled "Searching for Selective Reactions on Complex Molecular Scaffolds" will be delivered at the 2015 Society of Japan (CSJ) Annual Meeting on Saturday, March 28, 2015, 11:00–11:50 am.

The TCR Lecturer is selected annually by a committee consisting of the Editorial Board of The Chemical Record and the immediate past TCR Lecturer.

Scott Miller studied at Harvard University, where he completed his PhD (with David A. Evans) in 1994. He was a postdoctoral fellow with Robert H. Grubbs at the California Institute of Technology during 1994–1996, and he joined the faculty at Boston College in 1996. In 2006, he moved to Yale University, where he is currently Irénée du Pont Professor of Chemistry. Miller’s research interests are in the selective synthesis of complex molecules, in particular the development of new catalysts and the catalytic modification of natural products.

The TCR Lecture series has included many renowned speakers from a wide range of fields in chemistry from a wide range of disciplines:

  • Malcolm Chisholm, Ohio State University, USA 2005
  • Roy H. Doi, University of California, Davis, USA 2002
  • Gerhard Ertl, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, Germany 2003
  • Reinhard Hoffmann, Philipps-Univ. Marburg, Germany 2003
  • Andrew B. Holmes, University of Melbourne, Australia 2013
  • Yuan T. Lee, Academia Sinica, Taiwan 2003
  • Steven V. Ley, Cambridge University, UK 2002
  • E. W. “Bert” Meijer Eindhoven, Univ. of Technology, NL 2012
  • Robert M. Metzger, University of Alabama, USA 2004
  • Koji Nakanishi, Columbia University, USA 2004
  • Michel Rohmer, Univ. Louis Pasteur, Strasbourg, France 2008
  • Bruno Scrosati, Univ. of Rome “La Sapienza”, Italy 2005
  • Scott A. Snyder, The Scripps Research Institute, Jupiter, USA 2014
  • Gabor Somorjai, University of California, Berkeley, USA 2009
  • Christian Wandrey, Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH, Germany 2004
  • Anthony R. West, University of Sheffield, UK 2006
  • Hisashi Yamamoto, University of Chicago, USA 2010

See a list of all awards Wiley is involved in


Article Views: 4906

Sign in Area

Please sign in below

Additional Sign In options

Please note that to comment on an article you must be registered and logged in.
Registration is for free, you may already be registered to receive, e.g., the newsletter. When you register on this website, please ensure you view our terms and conditions. All comments are subject to moderation.

Article Comments - To add a comment please sign in

If you would like to reuse any content, in print or online, from, please contact us first for permission and consult our permission guidance prior to making your request

Follow on Facebook Follow on Twitter Follow on YouTube Follow on LinkedIn Follow on Instagram RSS Sign up for newsletters

Magazine of Chemistry Europe (16 European Chemical Societies) published by Wiley-VCH