16th International Symposium on Novel Aromatic Compounds (ISNA-16)

  • Author/Organiser: Nazario Martín, Complutense University, Madrid, Spain
  • Event Website: http://www.isna16.org/
  • Event Date: 05 July 2015 to 10 July 2015
  • Event Type: Conference
  • Venue: Facultad de Medicina, Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Pza. Ramón y Cajal s/n, Ciudad Universitaria 28040, Madrid, Spain
  • Associated Societies: Real Sociedad Española de Química (RSEQ), Spain

View Full Event Details

Related Societies

The ISNA was founded in 1970 by Professor Tetsuo Nozoe, who discovered the first non-benzenoid aromatic compound, hinokitiol, in Taipei. The name and the goal of this symposium series have evolved as the aromatic compounds pervade all branches of science.
Highlighting the current most exciting challenges on aromaticity, the ISNA-16 will be an opportunity to celebrate the 150 anniversary of a milestone in aromaticity, the first publication of Kekulè’s benzene. To continue the blossoming tradition of previous ISNA symposia, ISNA-16 will provide an interactive platform for researchers worldwide to present new findings and exchange innovative ideas on advanced synthesis, structure-property relationship, and applications of novel aromatic compounds for different purposes.

The scientific program of this symposium includes the Nozoe memorial lecture, plenary lectures, invited lectures, oral communications, and poster presentations.


  • Aromaticity and Novel Aromatic Systems – Theory, Synthesis, and Experiments
  • Aromatic Polymers and Oligomers – Synthesis, Properties, and Applications
  • Macrocyclic Aromatic Compounds
  • Fullerenes and Concave Aromatics, Graphene, and Carbon Nanotubes Related Aromatics
  • Molecular and Supramolecular Aromatic Devices, Switches, and Machines
  • Aromatics for Conducting, Magnetic, and Optoelectronics



  • Michael M. Haley, University of Oregon, USA


  • Takeshi Akasaka, University of Tsukuba, Japan
  • Luisa de Cola, Université de Strasbourg, France
  • François Diederich, Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zurich, Switzerland
  • Stefan Matile, University of Geneva, Switzerland
  • Colin Nuckolls, Columbia University, USA
  • Maurizio Prato, Università degli Studi di Trieste, Italy
  • Tomás Torres, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain
  • Lawrence T. Scott, Boston College, USA
  • Ken-Tsung Wong, National Taiwan University, Taiwan
  • Fred Wudl, University of California, USA


  • Munetaka Akita, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
  • Peter Bäuerle, Universität Ulm, Germany
  • Thomas Baumgartner, University of Calgary, Canada
  • Graham Bodwell, Memorial University of Newfoundland, Canada
  • Davide Bonifazi, Université de Namur, Belgium
  • Martin Bryce, Durham University, England
  • Antonio Echavarren, Institute of Chemical Research of Catalonia (ICIQ), Spain
  • Luis Echegoyen, University of Texas at El Paso, USA
  • Liangbing Gan, Peking University, China
  • Xike Gao, Shanghai Institute of Organic Chemistry, China
  • Miguel García-Garibay, University of California, USA
  • Dirk M. Guldi, Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany
  • Stefan Hecht, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Germany
  • Andreas Hirsch, Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany
  • Kenichiro Itami, Nagoya University, Japan
  • Ramesh Jasti, Oregon University, USA
  • Takeshi Kawase, University of Hyogo, Japan
  • Milan Kivala, Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany
  • Naoki Komatsu, Shiga University of Medical Science (SUMS), Japan
  • Dietmar Kuck, Bielefeld University, Germany
  • Fernando Langa, Universidad de Castilla La Mancha, Spain
  • Juan T. López Navarrete, University of Malaga, Spain
  • Aurelio Mateo-Alonso, POLYMAT – Universidad del País Vasco, Spain
  • Rodolfo Miranda, IMDEA Nanociencia, Spain
  • Jean-François Nierengarten, Université de Strasbourg et CNRS, France
  • Klaus Müllen, Max-Planck-Institute for Polymer Research, Germany
  • Thuc-Quyen Nguyen, University of California, USA
  • Atsuhiro Osuka, Kyoto University, Japan
  • Marc Sallè, Université d'Angers, France
  • Miquel Solà, Universitat de Girona, Spain
  • Rik R. Tykwinski, Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany
  • Wei Zhang, University of Colorado at Boulder, USA


Article Views: 7389

Sign in Area

Please sign in below

Additional Sign In options

Please note that to comment on an article you must be registered and logged in.
Registration is for free, you may already be registered to receive, e.g., the newsletter. When you register on this website, please ensure you view our terms and conditions. All comments are subject to moderation.

Article Comments - To add a comment please sign in

If you would like to reuse any content, in print or online, from ChemistryViews.org, please contact us first for permission. more

Follow on Facebook Follow on Twitter Follow on YouTube Follow on LinkedIn Follow on Instagram RSS Sign up for newsletters

Magazine of Chemistry Europe (16 European Chemical Societies) published by Wiley-VCH