H. Feise New EFCE President

  • Author: ChemViews Magazine
  • Published Date: 01 January 2018
  • Copyright: Wiley-VCH Verlag GmbH & Co. KGaA
thumbnail image: H. Feise New EFCE President

Dr. Hermann J. Feise, BASF, Ludwigshafen, Germany, and a member of DECHEMA (German chemical engineering and biotechnology society), was elected as the next President of the European Federation of Chemical Engineering (EFCE). He will begin his two-year term on January 1, 2018, and succeeds Professor Rafiqul Gani, Technical University of Denmark, Kongens Lyngby.

The EFCE was founded in 1953. It is an association of currently 39 member societies in 30 European countries joint by a number of societies from all over the world. Feise's priorities for his presidency are increasing the visibility and influence of EFCE outside the chemical engineering community, developing new activities in emerging chemical engineering trends, and improving the efficiency of EFCE’s administration.

Hermann J. Feise studied mechanical engineering at the Technical University Braunschweig, Germany, and the University of Waterloo, Canada. He gained his Ph.D. in 1996 from the Technical University Braunschweig, From 1996 to 1998, he served as Research Scientist in the field of bulk solids handling at DuPont, Germany. In 1998, Hermann Feise joined BASF's Process Engineering department in Ludwigshafen, Germany, initially serving as an expert for solids handling. From 2011, he is Senior Research Manager Science Relations at BASF.


EFCE’s new Scientific Vice-President will be Professor David Bogle, University College London, UK, and Executive Vice-President will be Giorgio Veronesi, Techint Engineering & Construction, Milan, Italy. Newly-elected Trustees are: Adisa Azapagic (University of Manchester/IChemE), Antoon ten Kate (Akzo Nobel/KIVI & KNCV), Ferenc Friedler (Pázmány Péter Catholic University /Hungarian Chemical Society), Laure Helard (PROFLUiD /SFGP), Michael Wilk (Merck/DECHEMA), Patrick Piccione (Syngenta/SGVC) and Petr Kluson (Czech Academy of Sciences/Czech Society of Chemical Engineering). They are joining Bent Sarup (Alfa Laval/ Ingeniørforeningen i Danmark), Carlos Negro (Complutense University of Madrid/Anque), Flavio Manenti (Politecnico di Milano/AIDIC), Michael Considine (University of Sheffield/IChemE), Jerzy Baldyga (Warsaw University of Technology/Polish Association of Chemical Engineers), Willi Meier (DECHEMA), François Nicol (SFGP) and Claudia Flavell-While (IChemE).


Also of Interest


Article Views: 3446

Sign in Area

Please sign in below

Additional Sign In options

Please note that to comment on an article you must be registered and logged in.
Registration is for free, you may already be registered to receive, e.g., the newsletter. When you register on this website, please ensure you view our terms and conditions. All comments are subject to moderation.

Article Comments - To add a comment please sign in

If you would like to reuse any content, in print or online, from ChemistryViews.org, please contact us first for permission and consult our permission guidance prior to making your request

Follow on Facebook Follow on Twitter Follow on YouTube Follow on LinkedIn Follow on Instagram RSS Sign up for newsletters

Magazine of Chemistry Europe (16 European Chemical Societies) published by Wiley-VCH