Netherlands Awards for Supramolecular Chemistry 2019

Netherlands Awards for Supramolecular Chemistry 2019

Author: ChemViews Magazine

Chad A. Mirkin, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL, USA, has received the Netherlands Supramolecular Chemistry Award 2019. He has developed the first DNA-based method for rationally assembling nanoparticles into macroscopic materials and he performed pioneering work on the synthesis of colloidal crystals with DNA.

The Netherlands Supramolecular Scholar Award 2019 has been presented to Helma Wennemers, ETH Zurich, Switzerland. She is involved in the rational design and the development of peptide-based asymmetric catalysts and bioinspired molecular scaffolds for applications in supramolecular and biological chemistry.

The prizes recognize outstanding scientists in the field of supramolecular chemistry. The scholar variant of the award aims to recognize and reward outstanding junior scientists working in supramolecular chemistry. Both awards have been initiated by the Research Center for Functional Molecular Systems, a partnership of the organic and macromolecular chemistry teams of the Eindhoven University of Technology, the Radboud University Nijmegen, and the University of Groningen, The Netherlands. This year’s awards were presented at the International Conference on Molecular Systems Engineering (ICMSE 2019) in Nijmegen.

Chad A. Mirkin studied chemistry at Dickinson College, Carlisle, PA, USA, and received his Ph.D. from Pennsylvania State University, State College, USA, in 1989. After postdoctoral work at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Cambridge, USA, he was appointed Assistant Professor of Chemistry at Northwestern University in 1991. He was promoted to Associate Professor in 1995 and to Charles E. and Emma H. Morrison Professor of Chemistry in 1997. Since 2008, Mirkin is Director of the International Institute for Nanotechnology, George B. Rathmann Professor of Chemistry, Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering, Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Professor of Materials Science & Engineering, and Professor of Medicine at Northwestern University.

Among many other honors, Mirkin has received the American Chemical Society (ACS) Award for Creative Invention in 2012, the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) Centenary Prize in 2015, the American Institute of Chemists Gold Medal in 2016, and the Ralph N. Adams Award in Bioanalytical Chemistry in 2018. In addition to other commitments, he serves on the editorial advisory boards of Chemistry – A European Journal, Advanced Materials, and Small, and as Associate Editor of the Journal of the American Chemical Society.

Helma Wennemers
studied chemistry at the University of Frankfurt, Germany, and received her Ph.D. from Columbia University, New York, USA, in 1996. Following postdoctoral research at Nagoya University, Japan, with Hisashi Yamamoto, she joined Basel University, Switzerland, as Assistant Professor in 1999. She was promoted to Associate Professor there in 2003 and moved to ETH Zurich as Professor of Organic Chemistry in 2011.

Among other honors, Wennemers has received the Pedler Award from the Royal Society of Chemistry in 2016, the Chemical Record Lectureship in 2017, and the In­hof­fen Medal in 2017. Among other commitments, she is a Member of the editorial boards of Angewandte Chemie and ACS Chemical Biology and a Fellow of ChemPubSoc Europe.

Selected Publications by Chad A. Mirkin

Selected Publications by Helma Wennemers

Also of Interest

  • EurJOC Lecture at ORCHEM 2014,
    ChemViews Mag. 2014.
    Professor Helma Wennemers, ETH Zürich, Switzerland is the 2014 recipient of the EurJOC Lecture
  • ChemPubSoc Europe Fellows Program,
    Eva E. Wille, Secretary Fellows Program of ChemPubSoc Europe,
    ChemViews Mag. 2015.
    A Unique Experiment – A Unique Success: European Chemical Societies Instigate Honors Program


Leave a Reply

Kindly review our community guidelines before leaving a comment.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *