Alwin Mittasch Prize 2021

  • Author:
  • Published Date: 19 March 2021
  • Source / Publisher: DECHEMA, Gesellschaft für Chemische Technik und Biotechnologie e.V.
  • Copyright: Wiley-VCH GmbH
thumbnail image: Alwin Mittasch Prize 2021

Johannes A. Lercher, Technical University of Munich, Germany, has been awarded the Alwin Mittasch Prize 2021 from the German Society for Catalysis (GeCatS), supported by BASF SE. The prize recognizes outstanding research that has led to a deeper understanding or widening of fundamentals in catalysis and its industrial applications. The award is endowed with EUR 10,000. The award lecture was given on March 19, 2021, at the annual meeting of German catalysis researchers.

Lercher's work focuses on the fundamental understanding of catalysts and catalytic processes for the synthesis of energy carriers and chemical intermediates. Using state-of-the-art physicochemical methods, he develops new types of catalysts that enable chemical transformations at milder reaction conditions and with higher selectivity. The transformations include acid-catalyzed reactions such as the activation, functionalization, and transformation of alkanes, as well as metal (sulfide)-catalyzed reactions involving hydrogen.

Johannes A. Lercher studied chemistry at the Vienna University of Technology, Austria, where he completed his Ph.D. in 1980. After a post-doctoral stay at Yale University, New Haven, CT, US, he returned to Vienna as a University Lecturer. From 1993 to 1998, he was Professor of Chemical Engineering at the University of Twente, The Netherlands. In 1998, he accepted a Professorship in Technical Chemistry at the Technical University of Munich. Since 2011, he has also been Director of the Institute of Integrated Catalysis and Battelle Fellow at Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Richland, WA, USA.

Among other awards, Johannes A. Lercher has received the inaugural David Trimm and Noel Cant Lectureship of the Australian Catalysis Society in 2016, the R. B. Anderson Award of the Canadian Catalysis Society in 2015, and the Francois Gault Lectureship Award of the European Federation of Catalysis Societies in 2013. He has been President of the International Zeolite Association from 2001 to 2004 and of the European Federation of Catalysis Societies from 2013 to 2017, and he serves as Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Catalysis.

Selected Publications

Also of Interest

  • Alwin Mittasch Prize 2019,
    ChemViews Mag. 2019.
    Catalysis award for Piet van Leeuwen, INSA Toulouse, France
  • Alwin Mittasch Prize 2017,
    ChemViews Mag. 2017.
    David Cole-Hamilton, UK, and Xinhe Bao, China, honored for contributions to catalysis
  • Schlögl Awarded,
    ChemViews Mag. 2015.
    Professor Robert Schlögl, Berlin, Germany, was awarded the BASF-DECHEMA Alwin Mittasch Prize 2015



Article Views: 1109

Sign in Area

Please sign in below

Additional Sign In options

Please note that to comment on an article you must be registered and logged in.
Registration is for free, you may already be registered to receive, e.g., the newsletter. When you register on this website, please ensure you view our terms and conditions. All comments are subject to moderation.

Article Comments - To add a comment please sign in

If you would like to reuse any content, in print or online, from, please contact us first for permission. more

Follow on Facebook Follow on Twitter Follow on YouTube Follow on LinkedIn Follow on Instagram RSS Sign up for newsletters

Magazine of Chemistry Europe (16 European Chemical Societies) published by Wiley-VCH