Liebig Memorial Medal for Herbert Waldmann

  • Author: ChemistryViews
  • Published Date: 01 September 2021
  • Copyright: Wiley-VCH GmbH
thumbnail image: Liebig Memorial Medal for Herbert Waldmann

Herbert Waldmann, Max Planck Institute of Molecular Physiology, Dortmund, Germany, has received the Liebig Memorial Medal 2020 from the Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker (GDCh, German Chemical Society). The award is endowed with EUR 7,500 and was presented at the GDCh Wissenschaftsforum 2021 on September 1, 2021. The GDCh awards the Liebig Memorial Medal for outstanding achievements in the entire field of chemistry.

Herbert Waldmann receives the award for the development of new concepts for the production of natural substance-based compound libraries, as well as for his synthesis methods for the production of lipidated peptides and proteins for the study of cancer-relevant G proteins, such as the Ras/RasG system.

Herbert Waldmann studied chemistry at the University of Mainz, Germany, where he received his Ph.D. in 1985. After two years as a postdoctoral fellow working with George Whitesides at Harvard University, Cambridge, USA, he returned to Mainz, where he completed his habilitation in 1991. Then, he was appointed Professor of Organic Chemistry at the University of Bonn, Germany, and moved to the University of Karlsruhe in 1993. Since 1999, he has headed the chemical biology department at the Max Planck Institute of Molecular Physiology and also served as Full Professor of Biochemistry at TU Dortmund. Since 2005, he has also headed the Chemical Genomics Center of the Max Planck Society.

Among other honors, Waldmann has received the Carl Duisberg Award from the GDCh in 1992, the Otto-Bayer-Award in 2001, the Max-Bergmann Medal in 2003, the Hans Herloff Inhoffen Medal in 2010, the Emil Fischer Medal from the GDCh in 2012, and an honorary doctorate from Leiden University, The Netherlands, in 2014. He is a Member of the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina, the North Rhine-Westphalian Academy of Sciences, Humanities and the Arts, and the Academy of Sciences and Literature, Mainz. Waldmann serves on various Editorial Boards of scientific journals and belongs to numerous Advisory Boards and Boards of Trustees.

Liebig Memorial Medal for Herbert Waldmann
Award ceremony: Herbert Waldmann receives the Liebig Memorial Medal from Stefanie Dehnen, Vice President of the GDCh

Selected Publications

Also of Interest

  • Emil Fischer Medal for H. Waldmann,
    Jonathan Faiz, ChemistryViews
    ChemistryViews 2012.
    Professor Herbert Waldmann, Germany, is the recipient of the 2012 Emil Fischer Medal, awarded for work in organic chemistry
  • Liebig Memorial Medal 2016,
    ChemistryViews 2016.
    Markus Antonietti, Max Planck Institute of Colloids and Interfaces, Potsdam, Germany, honored
  • Liebig Memorial Medal for W. Thiel,
    Jonathan Faiz,
    ChemistryViews 2012.
    Walter Thiel, Max Planck Institute for Coal Research, Germany, has received the 2012 Liebig Memorial Medal of the GDCh
  • J. Sauer Receives Liebig-Denkmünze,
    ChemistryViews 2010.
    Joachim Sauer receives the Liebig-Denkmünze for his work on zeolites and transition metal oxide aggregates



Article Views: 1721

Sign in Area

Please sign in below

Additional Sign In options

Please note that to comment on an article you must be registered and logged in.
Registration is for free, you may already be registered to receive, e.g., the newsletter. When you register on this website, please ensure you view our terms and conditions. All comments are subject to moderation.

Article Comments - To add a comment please sign in

If you would like to reuse any content, in print or online, from, please contact us first for permission and consult our permission guidance prior to making your request

Follow on Facebook Follow on Twitter Follow on YouTube Follow on LinkedIn Follow on Instagram RSS Sign up for newsletters

Magazine of Chemistry Europe (16 European Chemical Societies) published by Wiley-VCH