Arnold Eucken Prize Awarded

Arnold Eucken Prize Awarded

Author: ChemViews

The Arnold Eucken Prize of the German Chemical Engineering Society (VDI-GVC) has been awarded to Dr. Marco Haumann, Friedrich Alexander University’s Busan Campus, South Korea, and Dr. Martin Seipenbusch, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Germany. The award was presented at the opening ceremony of the 8th European Congress of Chemical Engineering (ECCE-8) in Berlin, Germany, on 25 September 2011.

Marco Haumann (left) studied mechanical engineering at the Techincal University Dortmund and chemistry at the Technical University of Berlin, both Germany. After receiving his doctorate from Friedrich Alexander University (FAU), Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany, in 2001, he went to South Africa for two years to work at the universities of Cape Town and Johannesburg to develop catalysts for Sasol Technology. He returned to FAU in 2003, where he works on the development of novel supported ionic liquid phase (SILP) materials at the Institute for Chemical Engineering (CRT). At the beginning of 2011, Haumann was appointed as FAU’s representative for chemical engineering at their newly created second campus in Busan, South Korea.

Martin Seipenbusch (right) received his Diploma in Chemical Engineering and his Ph.D. from the University of Karlsruhe, Germany. He worked as a postdoctoral fellow under the supervision of Sheldon Friedlander, University of California, Los Angeles, USA, before taking up a position as Researcher, Leibniz Institute for New Materials, Saarbrücken, Germany. In 2006, he was appointed Senior Researcher, KIT, where he works on gas cleaning via filtration and electrostatic precipitation and the selective functionalization and characterization of aerosols from nanostructured particles.

Leave a Reply

Kindly review our community guidelines before leaving a comment.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *