New Academicians of the Chinese Academy of Sciences

New Academicians of the Chinese Academy of Sciences

Author: ChemViews

The Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) has elected 51 new academicians. Academician is the highest academic title conferred on Chinese scientists and experts working in scientific and technological fields. The title is a lifelong honor.

Nine foreign scientists, including the Physics Nobel Laureate David Gross, University of California, Santa Barbara, USA, and the Chemistry Nobel Laureates Avram Hershko, Technion – Israel Institute of Technology, Haifa, Israel, and Ryoji Noyori, Nagoya University and RIKEN, Japan, were elected.

Among the Chinese chemists were these ChemPubSoc Europe and Wiley-VCH authors:

Yadong Li
, Tsinghua University, China

Li received his bachelor´s degree from Anhui Normal University in 1986, and his Ph.D. from the University of Science and Technology of China, Hefei, in 1998. He joined Tsinghua University as a full professor in 1999. His research interests include the structure-, size-, and morphology-controlled synthesis of monodisperse nanocrystals, as well as properties and applications of nanomaterials.

Zhongfan Liu, Peking University, China

Liu received his bachelor´s degree from Changchun University of Technology and his Ph.D. from the University of Tokyo, Japan, in 1990. He was appointed associate professor at the College of Chemistry, Peking University, in 1993 and is currently Cheung Kong Professor and Director of the Institute of Physical Chemistry at Peking University. His research is centered on the development of electronic devices based on materials such as single-walled carbon nanotubes and graphene. He is a member of the Editorial Board of Chemistry—An Asian Journal and the Advisory Board of Advanced Materials.

He Tian, East China University of Science and Technology (ECUST), Shanghai, China

Tian received his Ph.D. in 1989 from the ECUST. In 1999, he was appointed Cheung Kong Distinguished Professor by the Ministry of Education of China. His current research interests include the syntheses of novel functional organic dyes and polymers, as well as the development of materials with determined electronic and optical properties.

Chun-Hua Yan, Peking University, China

Yan received his Ph.D. from Peking University in 1988. He remained at the same institution as lecturer (1988), associate professor (1989), professor (1992), and Cheung Kong Professor (1999). His research is focused on controlling the structures and microstructures, particle sizes and morphologies and particle-size distributions, and surfaces and interfaces of rare-earth functional materials.

Xueming Yang, Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics, CAS, China

Yang received his bachelor´s degree in physics from Zhejiang Normal University and his Ph.D. in 1991 from the University of California, Santa Barbara, USA. He has been Fellow and Director, State Key Laboratory of Molecular Reaction Dynamics, Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics, CAS since 2001, and adjunct professor in the Department of Chemical Physics, University of Science and Technology of China, Hefei, since 2003. Yang´s research covers the kinetics and dynamics of chemical reactions, including unimolecular photodissociation and bimolecular reactions.

Jincai Zhao, Institute of Chemistry, CAS, China

Zhao was awarded his Ph.D. in 1994 from Meisei University, Japan, and was appointed professor at the Institute of Chemistry, CAS, in 1999. He is on the Editorial Advisory Board of ChemPhysChem and the International Advisory Board of ChemCatChem. Zhao´s research interests are in the photocatalytic degradation of organic pollutants and photochemical reaction processes of pollutants in the environment, and green photochemical synthesis.

Leave a Reply

Kindly review our community guidelines before leaving a comment.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *