Talented Young Scientists Awarded

Talented Young Scientists Awarded

Author: ChemViews/Jonathan Faiz

The Arbeitsgemeinschaft Deutscher Universitätsprofessoren und -professorinnen für Chemie (ADUC; Association of German University Professors in Chemistry) annually awards talented young scientists who are carrying out their habilitation.

The prizes were presented at the Chemiedozententagung in Paderborn, Germany, on March 10, 2014. The winners were:

Jan Streuff
studied at the University of Bonn, Germany, and gained his Ph.D. in 2008 under the guidance of Kilian Muñiz, firstly in Bonn and subsequently at the Université Louis Pasteur, Strasbourg, France. From 2008–2009, he was a postdoctoral researcher with Brian M. Stolz at the California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, USA, and he started his habilitation at the University of Freiburg, Germany, in 2010.

Streuff´s research is focused on reductive umpolung reactions catalyzed by low-valent transition metals.

Roland Marschall
studied at the University of Hanover, Germany. He gained his Ph.D. in 2008 under the supervision of Jürgen Caro and Michael Wark and carried out postdoctoral research at the same institution. He worked as a postdoctoral researcher with Lianzhou Wang and Max Lu at The University of Queensland, Australia, from 2009–2010. Upon returning to Germany, he appointed as a project leader at the Fraunhofer Institute for Silicate Research ISC, Würzburg, Germany. He carried out his habilitation with Michael Wark at the Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Germany, from 2010–2013, and moved to the University of Giessen, Germany, in 2013 as a junior research group leader supported by the Emmy Noether Programme.

Marschall is interested in heterogeneous photocatalysis, in particular photocatalytic water splitting using semiconductor mixed oxides and composites, and ordered mesoporous oxide materials for energy conversion applications.

Sebastian Seiffert
studied at the Technische Universität Clausthal, Germany, where he was awarded his Ph.D. for research supervised by Wilhelm Oppermann in 2007. After a year as lecturer at the same institution, he became a postdoctoral researcher with David A. Weitz at Harvard University, Cambridge, MA, USA, from (2009–2010. He was made junior research group leader at the Freie Universität Berlin and Helmholtz Zentrum Berlin, Germany, in 2011, and will be Professor of Supramolecular Polymer Materials there from April 2014.

Seiffert´s research interests are in sensitive polymer gels, smart microgel capsules, and microgel suspensions. Seiffert was also recently awarded the Raimund Stadler Prize, which is presented by the Macromolecular Chemistry Division of the GDCh to young researchers who are starting their independent career.

Selected publications:

Leave a Reply

Kindly review our community guidelines before leaving a comment.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *