European Sustainable Chemistry Award 2014

  • Author: ChemViews
  • Published Date: 31 August 2014
  • Copyright: Wiley-VCH Verlag GmbH & Co. KGaA, Weinheim
thumbnail image: European Sustainable Chemistry Award 2014

Professor Walter Leitner and Professor Jürgen Klankermayer, RWTH Aachen, Germany, have been awarded the European Sustainable Chemistry Award (ESCA) 2014. The award was presented during the opening ceremony of the 5th EuCheMS Chemistry Congress, which takes place in Istanbul and is organized by the European Association for Chemical and Molecular Sciences (EuCheMS).
The award recognizes their important contribution to the field of catalytic transformation of carbon dioxide.

Walter Leitner
 studied chemistry at the University of Regensburg, Germany, where he received his PhD in 1989. He spent time at the Dyson Perrins Laboratory for Organic Chemistry, University of Oxford, UK, with Professor J. M. Brown and habilitated at Friedrich-Schiller-University, Jena, Germany, in 1995. After three years as group leader at the Department of Organic Synthesis at the Max-Planck-Institute for Coal Research, Mülheim/Ruhr, Germany, he now is the Director of the Institute of Technical and Macromolecular Chemistry at RWTH.

His research interests include green chemistry through sustainable catalytic processes, new chemical transformations and new raw materials for energy carriers and chemical products, as well as supercritical fluids and other advanced fluids as benign reaction media for catalysis.

Jürgen Klankermayer
 also started out at the University of Regensburg, where he received his PhD in 2002. He did his postdoctoral research with Professor Francois Mathey and Dr. Duncan Carmichael, École Polytechnique, Paris, as well as with Professor J. M. Brown at the University of Oxford. Since 2009, he lectures on mechanisms in catalysis as junior professor at the Institute of Technical and Macromolecular Chemistry at RWTH.

His research focuses on catalysis and sustainable chemistry.

Professors Ulrich Schubert, EuCheMS President, and Igor Tkatchenko, France, present the award.

Selected Publications:


All articles published from this event

Article Views: 5370

Sign in Area

Please sign in below

Additional Sign In options

Please note that to comment on an article you must be registered and logged in.
Registration is for free, you may already be registered to receive, e.g., the newsletter. When you register on this website, please ensure you view our terms and conditions. All comments are subject to moderation.

Article Comments - To add a comment please sign in

If you would like to reuse any content, in print or online, from, please contact us first for permission and consult our permission guidance prior to making your request

Follow on Facebook Follow on Twitter Follow on YouTube Follow on LinkedIn Follow on Instagram RSS Sign up for newsletters

Magazine of Chemistry Europe (16 European Chemical Societies) published by Wiley-VCH