Buchwald Receives 2014 Linus Pauling Medal

Buchwald Receives 2014 Linus Pauling Medal

Author: ChemViews

This year’s Linus Pauling Medal was awarded to Stephen L. Buchwald, Camille Dreyfus Professor of Chemistry at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Cambridge, MA, USA, at a symposium and banquet on 11 October, 2014, at Western Washington University, Bellingham, WA, USA.

The prize is awarded annually by the Puget Sound, Oregon, and Portland Sections of the American Chemical Society (ACS) and recognizes “outstanding contributions to chemistry meriting national and international recognition”.

Stephen L. Buchwald
was born in Bloomington, Indiana. He received his Sc.B. degree from Brown University, Providence, RI, USA, and his Ph.D. from Harvard University,  Cambridge, MA, USA, in 1982. His doctoral research with Jeremy R. Knowles concerned the mechanism of phosphoryl transfer reactions. He then was a postdoctoral fellow at Caltech with Professor Robert H. Grubbs. In 1984, he began as an assistant professor of chemistry at MIT. After being promoted to associate and full professor, Buchwald was named the Camille Dreyfus Professor of Chemistry in 1997.

Among many other honors, Professor Buchwald has received the Award in Organometallic Chemistry from ACS, the Bristol-Myers Squibb Distinguished Achievement Award, the the Gustavus J. Esselen Award for Chemistry in the Public Interest, and the Arthur C. Cope Award.

In 2000, he was elected fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and in 2008 member of the National Academy of Sciences. He serves as a consultant to a number of companies and is associate editor of Advanced Synthesis & Catalysis.

Buchwald’s research combines elements of organic synthesis, physical organic chemistry and organometallic chemistry to devise catalytic processes of use in solving problems of fundamental importance.

Selected Publications:


Leave a Reply

Kindly review our community guidelines before leaving a comment.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *