New GDCh President

  • ChemPubSoc Europe Logo
  • DOI: 10.1002/chemv.201500108
  • Author: ChemViews
  • Published Date: 01 January 2016
  • Copyright: Wiley-VCH Verlag GmbH & Co. KGaA, Weinheim
thumbnail image: New GDCh President

Professor Thisbe K. Lindhorst, Christian-Albrechts-University of Kiel, Germany, has been elected President of the Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker (GDCh, German Chemical Society) for 2016 and 2017. She succeeds Professor Thomas Geelhaar, Merck KGaA, Darmstadt, Germany.

Thisbe K. Lindhorst studied chemistry at the Universities of Munich and Münster, Germany. She received her Ph.D. from the University of Hamburg, Germany, in 1991. After postdoctoral research at the University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Cananda, she returned to Hamburg, where she completed her habilitation in 1998. She joined the University of Kiel in 2000 as Professor of Organic and Biological Chemistry. Since 2010, she is a member of the Advisory Board of the GDCh magazine Nachrichten aus der Chemie.

Professor Lindhorst's research interests include the biological chemistry of carbohydrates and glycoconjugates, the synthesis of carbohydrates, peptides, and dendrimers, as well as ligand-receptor interactions and conformational switches.


Selected Publications


Lindhorst, Thisbe K.
Essentials of Carbohydrate Chemistry and Biochemistry
ISBN 978-3-527-31528-4



Also of Interest


Article Views: 4240

Sign in Area

Please sign in below

Additional Sign In options

Please note that to comment on an article you must be registered and logged in.
Registration is for free, you may already be registered to receive, e.g., the newsletter. When you register on this website, please ensure you view our terms and conditions. All comments are subject to moderation.

Article Comments - To add a comment please sign in

Bookmark and Share

If you would like to reuse any content, in print or online, from, please contact us first for permission. more

CONNECT: on Facebook on Twitter on YouTube on LinkedIn Sign up for our free newsletter

A product of ChemPubSoc Europe (16 European Chemical Societies)and Wiley-VCH