Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize

Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize

Author: ChemViews

The Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize is the highest honour awarded in German research. The Leibniz Programme, established in 1985, aims to improve the working conditions of outstanding scientists and academics, expand their research opportunities, relieve them of administrative tasks, and help them employ particularly qualified young researchers. A maximum of EUR 2.5 million is provided per award. Prizewinners are first chosen from a slate of nominations, this year 152, put forward by third parties; the final selection is made by the Joint Committee on the basis of a recommendation from the Leibniz Nominations Committee.

The 2011Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize is awards to the following exceptional scientists and academics for their outstanding achievements in their field of research:

  • Prof. Dr. Ulla Bonas, Mikrobiologie/Molekulare Phytopathologie, Universität Halle-Wittenberg
  • Prof. Dr. Christian Büchel, Kognitive Neurowissenschaften, Universitätsklinikum Hamburg-Eppendorf
  • Prof. Dr. Anja Feldmann, Informatik/Computer-Netzwerke/Internet, Technische Universität Berlin
  • Prof. Dr. Kai-Uwe Hinrichs, Organische Geochemie, Universität Bremen
  • Prof. Dr. Anthony A. Hyman, Zellbiologie/Mikrotubuli und Zellteilung, Max-Planck-Institut für Molekulare Zellbiologie und Genetik, Dresden
  • Prof. Dr. Bernhard Keimer, Experimentelle Festkörperphysik, Max-Planck-Institut für Festkörperforschung, Stuttgart
  • Prof. Dr. Franz Pfeiffer, Lasermedizin, Technische Universität München
  • Prof. Dr. Joachim Friedrich Quack, Ägyptologie, Universität Heidelberg
  • Prof. Dr. Gabriele Sadowski (see picture), Technische Thermodynamik, Technische Universität Dortmund
  • Prof. Dr. Christine Silberhorn, Quantenoptik, Universität Paderborn

Foto: (C) Gabriele Sadowski, Universität Dortmund

Leave a Reply

Kindly review our community guidelines before leaving a comment.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *