Innovation Award for Robert Schlögl

  • Author: ChemViews
  • Published Date: 29 February 2016
  • Copyright: Wiley-VCH Verlag GmbH & Co. KGaA, Weinheim
thumbnail image: Innovation Award for Robert Schlögl

Professor Robert Schlögl, Max Planck Institute for Chemical Energy Conversion, Mülheim an der Ruhr, Germany, has received the Innovation Award 2015 from the Ministry for Innovation, Science, Research and Technology (MIWF) of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia, Düsseldorf, Germany.

The award has been presented at a ceremony in Düsseldorf on February 29, 2016. It honors Schlögl's contributions to the use of renewable energies, for example his work on the storage of solar energy in high-energy molecules and on the generation of hydrogen from electric energy.

Robert Schlögl studied chemistry at the Ludwig Maximilians University, Munich, Germany, where he received his Ph.D. in 1982. After post-doctoral research at the University of Cambridge, UK, the University of Basel, Switzerland, and the Fritz Haber Institute, Berlin, Germany, he finished his habilitation at the Technical University of Berlin, Germany, under the supervision of Gerhard Ertl in 1989. He then joined the University of Frankfurt am Main, Germany, as Full Professor for Inorganic Chemistry. In 1994, he was appointed Director at the Fritz Haber Institute of the Max Planck Society in Berlin. In 2011, Schlögl became Founding Director of the Max Planck Institute for Chemical Energy Conversion, Mülheim an der Ruhr, Germany.

Among other honors, Professor Schlögl received the BASF-DECHEMA Alwin Mittasch Prize 2015, the DECHEMA Plaque in 2010, and the Otto Bayer Prize by Bayer AG, Leverkusen, Germany, in 1994. He is a Member of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and honorary professor at the Technical University and Humboldt University, both Berlin, the University of Duisburg-Essen, and the Ruhr University Bochum, all in Germany. Professor Schlögl also is a Member of the Editorial Boards of ChemCatChem and Catalysis Letters.

In addition, the MIWF presented the Innovation Award for Young Scientists to Dr. Stephan Binder and Dr. Georg Schaumann, Research Center Jülich, Germany, for their work on improved screening methods for especially productive microorganisms in biotechnological processes. The winner in the category "Innovation" is Professor Jürgen Wolf, Center for Integrated Oncology, University of Cologne, Germany, for his initiative in founding the "Netzwerk Genomische Medizin (NGM)" (Network Genomic Medicine), which provides molecular diagnostics for patients with lung cancer and promotes the implementation of personalized medicine.

Selected Publications by Robert Schlögl


Also of Interest

  • Schlögl Awarded,
    ChemViews Mag. 2015.
    Professor Robert Schlögl, Berlin, Germany, was awarded the BASF-DECHEMA Alwin Mittasch Prize 2015
  • 60th Birthday: Robert Schlögl,
    ChemViews Mag. 2014.
    Professor Robert Schlögl, Berlin, Germany, celebrates his 60th birthday on 23 January, 2014
  • Awarded: R. Schlögl and J. Lehmann,
    ChemViews Mag. 2010.
    DECHEMA Plaque awarded to Robert Schlögl, Fritz-Haber-Institut, Berlin, and Jürgen Lehmann, University of Bielefeld


Article Views: 4520

Sign in Area

Please sign in below

Additional Sign In options

Please note that to comment on an article you must be registered and logged in.
Registration is for free, you may already be registered to receive, e.g., the newsletter. When you register on this website, please ensure you view our terms and conditions. All comments are subject to moderation.

Article Comments - To add a comment please sign in

If you would like to reuse any content, in print or online, from, please contact us first for permission and consult our permisson guidance prior to making your request

Follow on Facebook Follow on Twitter Follow on YouTube Follow on LinkedIn Follow on Instagram RSS Sign up for newsletters

Magazine of Chemistry Europe (16 European Chemical Societies) published by Wiley-VCH