Learn About Methods in Biomass Analysis

Learn About Methods in Biomass Analysis

Author: ChemistryViews

The use of biological sources is transforming the production of fuels; from biodiesel and bioethanol to cellulosic biofuels. The greatest challenges to implement these advances are tailored analytical techniques to deliver fast, accurate, and reproducible results.

A webinar on BioFPR presents analytical solutions for carbohydrate and lipid analyses in complex biomass mixtures. You will learn:

  1. Application of ion exchange chemistry with pulsed amperometric detection for the separation of closely eluting carbohydrates in biomass and why it is useful.
  2. Precision and accuracy of the method for summative mass analysis of biomass components.
  3. How charged aerosol detection works and its application for analysis of biofuels.

The conversion of plant-derived oils into biofuels has become a major area of research, and algal oils are a promising feedstock. Presented will be an overview of the field and the use of charged aerosol detection with HPLC to provide detection independent of chemical structure for nonvolatile analytes, from raw material to final product.


Tuesday, September 20, 2011: 15:00 UTC
08.00 PDT / 11.00 EDT / 16.00 BST / 17.00 CET
Click here to check the time in your own country >>>

Registration



Your Speakers

Professor Kevin
Chambliss Associate Professor of Chemistry, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, Baylor University

Chris Scarlata
Research Scientist, National Bioenergy Center, National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Marc Plante, Ph.D.
Applications Scientist, Dionex Products, Thermo Fisher Scientific

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.