Novartis Early Career Award in Organic Chemistry

  • Author: Novartis
  • Published: 13 December 2010
  • Source / Publisher: Novartis
  • Associated Suppliers: Novartis AG, Basel, Switzerland
thumbnail image: Novartis Early Career Award in Organic Chemistry
Novartis is pleased to announce the 2010 recipients of the Novartis Early Career Award in Organic Chemistry
Professor Karl Gademann, University of Basel, Switzerland

Karl Gademann earned his Ph.D. in 2000 from ETH Zürich working with Professor Dieter Seebach. After completing postdoctoral studies at Givaudan Fragrance Research and in the group of Professor Eric N. Jacobsen at Harvard University, he started his independent research at ETH Zürich in 2002. In 2006 he moved to EPFL Lausanne and in 2010 moved to the University of Basel. His research interests are located at the interface of chemistry and biology, where fundamental problems in science are investigated through the isolation, synthesis and studies of the function and potential application of natural products.

Professor Jin-Quan Yu, The Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla, USA

Jin-Quan Yu obtained his Ph.D. in 2000 from the University of Cambridge working with Professor Jonathan B. Spencer. Following time as a junior research fellow at Cambridge he joined the laboratory of Professor E.J. Corey at Harvard University as a postdoctoral fellow. In 2003 he started his independent career at the University of Cambridge, before moving to Brandeis University in 2004 and finally to The Scripps Research Institute in 2007. Since this time he has emerged as a leader in the field of transition metal-catalysed C-H activation and has had a significant impact on how we envision assembling molecules.

The Novartis Early Career Award in Organic Chemistry is presented annually to outstanding scientists within 10 years of having established an independent academic research career, in the areas of organic or bioorganic chemistry in the broadest sense. Two winners are identified, from the Global Research community, each of whom receives an unrestricted research grant.

Past Awardees:

Magnus Rueping, RWTH Aachen University (2009); Christopher J. Chang, University of California, Berkeley (2009); Matthew J. Gaunt, University of Cambridge (2008); Jeffrey S. Johnson, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (2008); Lukas J. Goossen, Technische Universität Kaiserslautern (2007); Anna K. Mapp, University of Michigan Ann Arbor (2007); Armido Studer, University of Münster (2006); F Dean Toste, University of California Berkeley (2006); Benjamin List, Max-Planck-Institute Mülheim an der Ruhr (2005); Dirk Trauner, University of California Berkeley (2005); J Stephen Clark, University of Nottingham (2004); Jonathan P Clayden, University of Manchester (2004); Thorsten Bach, Technical University of Munich (2003); Bernhard Breit, University of Freiburg (2002); Thomas Carell, University of Munich (2002).

Article Views: 5568

Sign in Area

Please sign in below

Additional Sign In options

Please note that to comment on an article you must be registered and logged in.
Registration is for free, you may already be registered to receive, e.g., the newsletter. When you register on this website, please ensure you view our terms and conditions. All comments are subject to moderation.

Article Comments - To add a comment please sign in

If you would like to reuse any content, in print or online, from, please contact us first for permission and consult our permission guidance prior to making your request

Follow on Facebook Follow on Twitter Follow on YouTube Follow on LinkedIn Follow on Instagram RSS Sign up for newsletters

Magazine of Chemistry Europe (16 European Chemical Societies) published by Wiley-VCH