TCR Lecture 2014

TCR Lecture 2014

Author: ChemistryViews

The Chemical Record (TCR) Lecture award was initiated in 2002 shortly after the start of the journal The Chemical Record. It has since established itself into a high-profile series with a view to fostering international and interdisciplinary exchange. It takes place annually in Japan as part of the spring meeting of the Chemical Society of Japan (CSJ). 

The lecture of the 2014 recipient, Professor Scott A. Snyder, The Scripps Research Institute, Jupiter, USA, is titled “Exploring Chemoselectivity through Natural Product Total Synthesis”. It will be delivered at the 2014 Society of Japan (CSJ) Annual Meeting on Friday, March 28, 2014, 3:30–4:20 pm.

Scott Snyder has quickly established his group as a leader in the field of total synthesis of natural products and is a member of the International Advisory Board of The Chemical Record.


Scott Snyder received his Ph.D. degree in 2004 from The Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla, USA, where he worked with K. C. Nicolaou. He then performed postdoctoral studies as an National Institute of Health (NIH) fellow with E. J. Corey at Harvard University, Cambridge, USA. In 2006, he began his independent career at Columbia University, New York, USA, where he rose to the rank of Associate Professor. In 2013, he moved to his present position at The Scripps Research Institute on their Jupiter, USA, campus.

He is the recipient of many awards, including the 2012 Arthur C. Cope Scholar award of the American Chemical Society (ACS), and is co-author of Classics in Total Synthesis II with K. C. Nicolaou.


The TCR Lecture series has included many renowned speakers from a wide range of fields in chemistry from a wide range of disciplines:

  • Malcolm Chisholm Ohio State University, USA 2005
  • Roy H. Doi University of California, Davis, USA 2002
  • Gerhard Ertl Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, Germany 2003
  • Reinhard Hoffmann Philipps-Univ. Marburg, Germany 2003
  • Andrew B. Holmes, University of Melbourne, Australia 2013
  • Yuan T. Lee Academia Sinica, Taiwan 2003
  • Steven V. Ley Cambridge University, UK 2002
  • E. W. “Bert” Meijer Eindhoven Univ. of Technology, NL 2012
  • Robert M. Metzger University of Alabama, USA 2004
  • Koji Nakanishi Columbia University, USA 2004
  • Michel Rohmer Univ. Louis Pasteur, Strasbourg, France 2008
  • Bruno Scrosati Univ. of Rome “La Sapienza”, Italy 2005
  • Gabor Somorjai University of California, Berkeley, USA 2009
  • Christian Wandrey Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH, Germany 2004
  • Anthony R. West University of Sheffield, UK 2006
  • Hisashi Yamamoto University of Chicago, USA 2010

See a list of all awards Wiley is involved in


Leave a Reply

Kindly review our community guidelines before leaving a comment.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *