Beilstein Nanotechnology Symposium – Functional Micro- and Nanostructured Surfaces: from Biology to Biomimetics

The scope of this conference is to provide an interdisciplinary platform for discussions of developments and trends in the field of biological and bio-inspired surfaces. Topics will encompass functional mechanisms as well as the characterization of biological surfaces with different functionalities: adhesion, friction, wear-resistance, wettability, photonics, etc. Based on this knowledge, a further key topic will be the consideration of structural principles in biological systems as potential models for the generation of novel technical surfaces and their implementations into engineering systems.

The following aspects will be covered at the symposium:

  • biological surfaces and physical principles of their functioning
  • technical bio-inspired micro- and nanosctructured surfaces
  • tribological surfaces: adhesion, friction, wear-resistance
  • wettability and self-cleaning / photonical surface



  • Guillermo Amador / Wageningen University and Research, Netherlands
  • Ming Bai / Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
  • Wilhelm Barthlott / Nees Institute for Biodiversity of Plants, Germany
  • Mikhail Chamonine / Regensburg University of Applied Sciences, Germany
  • Zhendong Dai / Nanjing University Aeronautics & Astronautics, China
  • Stanislav N. Gorb / University of Kiel, Germany
  • Atsushi Hozumi / AIST Chubu, Japan
  • Rhainer Guillermo-Ferreira / Federal University of Triangulo Mineiro, Brazil
  • Lars Heepe / Gottlieb Binder GmbH, Germany
  • Karin Jacobs / Saarland University, Germany
  • Poramate Manoonpong / University of Southern Denmark, Denmark
  • Rox Middleton / TU Dresden, Germany
  • Florian Müller-Plathe / Technical University of Darmstadt, Germany
  • Gábor Piszter / Center for Energy Research, Hungary
  • Manuela Rebora / University of Perugia, Italy
  • Dan Sameoto / University of Alberta, Canada
  • Thomas Schimmel / Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
  • Stephen Schrettl / Technical University of Munich, Germany
  • Alyssa Stark / Villanova University, USA
  • Anne Staubitz / University of Bremen, Germany
  • Hans-Henning Stutz / Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
  • Tobias Weidner / Aarhus University, Denmark
  • Qibin Zhao / Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
  • Cordt Zollfrank / Technical University of Munich, Germany


Event Details

Leave a Reply

Kindly review our community guidelines before leaving a comment.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *