2017 ACS President

  • Author: ChemViews Magazine
  • Published Date: 01 January 2017
  • Copyright: Wiley-VCH Verlag GmbH & Co. KGaA
thumbnail image: 2017 ACS President

The 2017 President of the American Chemical Society (ACS) is Dr. Allison A. Campbell, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Richland, WA, USA. She succeeds Professor Donna Nelson, University of Oklahoma, Norman, OK, USA, in this one year term position. 2017 President-Elect is Professor Peter K. Dorhout, Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS, USA. He will serve as the society's president in 2018.



Allison Campbell, ACS President-Elect

Allison A. Campbell, studied chemistry at Gettysburg College, PA, USA, and received her Ph.D. from the University at Buffalo, NY, USA, in 1991. She then joined the Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL), Richland, WA, USA, as a postdoctoral researcher and became Research Scientist there in 1992, Technical Group Leader for Materials Synthesis and Modification in 1999, and was Deputy Director of the Environmental Molecular Sciences Laboratory from 2000 to 2005.

Today, Campbell is Acting Associate Laboratory Director for Earth and Biological Sciences at PNNL.

Campbell's research interests include biomaterials and the role of proteins in biomineralization. She co-invented a process to grow a bioactive calcium phosphate layer on the surfaces of artificial joint implants.


Dorhout, Kansas State University, ACS PresidentPeter K. Dorhout earned a bachelor's degree in chemistry from the University of Illinois, Urbana, Il, USA, and his Ph.D. in inorganic chemistry from the University of Wisconsin, Madison, USA. He was a postdoctoral fellow at the Ames Laboratory at Iowa State University, Ames, IA, USA, and a research collaborator with Los Alamos National Laboratory, New Mexico, USA.

Currently, Dorhout is Vice President for Research at Kansas State University.

Dorhout's research interests include thin film materials, environmental chemistry, and actinide and radiochemistry. Dorhout received several awards and honors, he is, e.g., a fellow of the ACS since 2013, was awarded the National Science Foundation CAREER Award, the ACS Exxon-Mobil Young Faculty Award for Materials Chemistry, and is an A. P. Sloan Fellow. (Image: ©  Kansas State University)


Also of Interest


Article Views: 2010

Sign in Area

Please sign in below

Additional Sign In options

Please note that to comment on an article you must be registered and logged in.
Registration is for free, you may already be registered to receive, e.g., the newsletter. When you register on this website, please ensure you view our terms and conditions. All comments are subject to moderation.

Article Comments - To add a comment please sign in

If you would like to reuse any content, in print or online, from ChemistryViews.org, please contact us first for permission and consult our permisson guidance prior to making your request

Follow on Facebook Follow on Twitter Follow on YouTube Follow on LinkedIn Follow on Instagram RSS Sign up for newsletters

Magazine of Chemistry Europe (16 European Chemical Societies) published by Wiley-VCH