Clara Immerwahr Award 2017

Clara Immerwahr Award 2017

Author: ChemViews

Dr. Sandra Luber, University of Zurich, Switzerland, has been awarded the Clara Immerwahr Award 2017 for her contributions to the development of computational methods for catalysis. The award was presented at a public ceremony at the Technical University of Berlin (TU Berlin), Germany, on February 10, 2017.

The annual Clara Immerwahr Award honors a young female scientist at an early stage of their career for outstanding achievements in catalysis research. The award is presented by the Cluster of Excellence UniCat (Unifying Concepts in Catalysis), TU Berlin, and includes 15,000 € of financial support for a research stay at UniCat.

Lubers’s research interests include the development and application of new computational methods for condensed phase systems, spectroscopy, and catalysis, the investigation of complex liquids and functional molecules in the gas phase and on surfaces, and the design of bio-inspired catalysts for efficient water splitting.

Sandra Luber studied chemistry at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) Zurich, Switzerland, where she received her Ph.D. in 2009 under the supervision of Markus Reiher. She then worked as a Postdoctoral Researcher with Mihaela Zavolan at the University of Basel, Switzerland, and with Victor S. Batista at Yale University, New Haven, CT, USA. In 2012, she joined the Start-­in program for young talents at BASF SE in Germany, and then became Project Group Leader in computational chemistry and materials science with Jürg Hutter at the University of Zurich, where she finished her habilitation in 2016. Among other honors, Luber has received the IBM Research Prize for Computer Modelling and Simulations in Chemistry, Biology, and Materials Science in 2007 and the ETH medal for an outstanding Ph.D. thesis in 2010.

Selected Publications

Also of Interest


Leave a Reply

Kindly review our community guidelines before leaving a comment.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *