Who Will Win the Wolf Prize?

Who Will Win the Wolf Prize?

Author: ChemistryViews

The Wolf Prize is an international award modeled on the Nobel Prize. It honors between one and three scientists in six different disciplines for outstanding discoveries. Wolf Prizes in Physics and Chemistry are often considered the most prestigious awards in those fields after the Nobel Prize.

About 40 % of the Wolf Prize winners are also Nobel Laureates. Emmanuelle Charpentier and Jennifer Doudna, the 2020 Chemistry Nobel Prize Laureates, for example, were awarded the Wolf prize in 2020. For a list of Wolf Prize Laureates, click here. Those who have received the Nobel Prize cannot be nominated for the Wolf Prize.

The Wolf Prize has been awarded annually by the Wolf Foundation since 1978 and comes with USD 100,000 in prize money. The award is presented during a ceremony at the Knesset, Israel´s Parliament. The 2021 Wolf Prize announcement will take place on February 9 at 17:00 (CET +1). (it was postponed for one week)


You can find the announcement here and a list of the names suggested in the voting below

Ad Bax

Aida Takuzo

Antonio Togni

Barry M Trost

Benjamin List

Bert Meijer

Carolyn R. Bertozzi 2

Chad Mirkin 2

Craig Crews

David Leigh

David MacMillan 3

Karl Alexander Deisseroth

Eric Carreira 3

Eric Jacobsen

Feng Zhang

Harry B. Gray

Hossam Haick

Kamil Ugurbil

Krzysztof “Kris” Matyjaszewski   

Matt Disney

Meir Lahav one of the Wolf Prize 2021 winners

Michael Gratzel

Narayana Murthy Sabbavarapu 4

Omar Yaghi

Peidong Yang

Peter H. Seeberger 3

Peter Schreiner

Phil Baran 4

Pieter Cullis

Raphael Meshulam

Robert Crabtree

Shaik Sason

Sumio iijima

Takuzo Aida 7

Valery V. Fokin

Zhenan Bao

The opinions expressed in this poll are those of our users. They do not necessarily reflect the views of ChemistryViews’s editorial staff and should not be taken as endorsed by the editorial office.


Also of Interest

2019 Wolf Prize in Chemistry

2019 Wolf Prize in Chemistry
ChemistryViews 2019.
Awarded to Stephen L. Buchwald, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Cambridge, CA, USA (pictured left), and John F. Hartwig, University of California (UC), Berkeley, USA (pictured right)




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.