Chemistry Europe Fellows 2020/2021

Chemistry Europe Fellows 2020/2021

Author: ChemistryViews

This year, Chemistry Europe honors 27 persons for their outstanding support and contributions to the European joint publishing venture. The Fellowship is the highest award given by Chemistry Europe. We congratulate the Chemistry Europe Fellows listed below on this honor.




Chemistry Europe’s Fellows Program


Awarded biannually since 2015, the Fellows program honors exceptional members of the Chemistry Europe societies who have made a significant contribution to Chemistry Europe through their support, research, creativity, and innovation. Chemistry Europe Fellows are selected by the Chemistry Europe societies based on proposals received during an open nomination process and by the editorial teams of Chemistry Europe’s journals. Nominees must be current members in good standing of one of Chemistry Europe’s member societies. They receive a certificate and retain the designation Chemistry Europe Fellow for life.

“We are very excited to honor these outstanding European scientists for their exceptional support of Chemistry Europe and its journals. It is people like these and their wonderful commitment who lay the basis of Chemistry Europe’s success,” says Professor Wolfram Koch, Executive Director of the Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker (GDCh, German Chemical Society), and the Chemistry Europe Council Member responsible for the Fellows program. The Chemistry Europe Fellows will be celebrated at a reception during the 8th EuChemS Chemistry Congress in Lisbon on August 29, 2022.

Chemistry Europe publishes 19 high-quality scientific chemistry journals covering a wide range of disciplines, the magazine ChemistryViews, and it supports scientists at every stage of their careers. All this is only possible because many chemists in Europe and the world over are supporting Chemistry Europe in many ways. Some stood out especially and are honored as Chemistry Europe Fellows. Previous notable Chemistry Europe Fellows include the Nobel Laureates Ben Feringa (The Netherlands) and Sir Fraser Stoddart (USA).




Honorary Chemistry Europe Fellows 2020/21

Peter Gölitz

Peter Gölitz, Germany

Eva E. Wille

Eva E. Wille, Germany



Chemistry Europe Fellows 2020/21

Lutz Ackermann

Lutz Ackermann, Georg-August-University Goettingen, Germany
(Video with Lutz Ackermann)

Carlos A. M. Afonso

Carlos A. M. Afonso,  Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal

Angela Agostiano

Angela Agostiano, University of Bari Aldo Moro, Italy
(Interview with Angela Agostiano)

Nicola Armaroli

Nicola Armaroli, Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche, CNR, Bologna, Italy

Pablo Ballester

Pablo Ballester, ICIQ – Institut Català d’Investigació Química, Tarragona, Spain

Tatiana Besset

Tatiana Besset, Université de Rouen, France

Vlasta Brezova

Vlasta Brezová, Slovak University of Technology in Bratislava, Slovakia

Radek Cibulka


Radek Cibulka, University of Chemistry and Technology, Prague – VŠCHT, Czech Republic


Ivana Ciserova

Ivana Císařová, Charles University, Prague, Czech Republic

Fernando P. Cossio

Fernando P. Cossío, Universidad del País Vasco, San Sebastián, Spain

Jeanne Crassous

Jeanne Crassous, Université de Rennes, France

Damien Debecker

Damien Debecker, UCLouvain, Belgium

Celia Fonseca Guerra


Célia Fonseca Guerra, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, The Netherlands


Sonja Herres-Pawlis

Sonja Herres-Pawlis, RWTH Aachen University, Germany

Patrik Johansson

Patrik Johansson, Chalmers University, Gothenburg, Sweden

Peter Kele

Péter Kele, Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Budapest, Hungary

Christoforos Kokotos

Christoforos Kokotos, University of Athens, Greece

Janusz Lewinski

Janusz Lewiński, Warsaw University of Technology, Poland

Stefan Matile

Stefan Matile, Université de Genève, Switzerland

Belen Martin-Matute

Belén Martín-Matute, Stockholm University, Sweden

Nuno Maulide

Nuno Maulide, University of Vienna, Austria

Tatjana Parac-Vogt

Tatjana Parac-Vogt, Universite Catholique Louvain, Belgium

Floris Rutjes

Floris Rutjes, Radboud University, The Netherlands

David Spichiger

David Spichiger, Swiss Chemical Society, Switzerland
(Interview with David Spichiger)

Anabela A. Valente

Anabela A. Valente, CICECO – Aveiro Institute of Materials, Portugal





Also of Interest







Leave a Reply

Kindly review our community guidelines before leaving a comment.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *