Meyer-Galow Prize for Susanne Röhrig

Meyer-Galow Prize for Susanne Röhrig

Author: Jonathan Faiz

The Meyer-Galow Prize is awarded to scientists in German-speaking countries who have been instrumental in a recent chemical innovation that has been successfully introduced to the market. Dr. Susanne Röhrig, Bayer HealthCare, Wuppertal, Germany, is the winner of the inaugural prize, and was honored for her contribution to the discovery and development of the novel anticoagulent rivaroxaban.

The prize is sponsored by the Meyer-Galow Foundation and administered by the Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker (GDCh; German Chemical Society). It is endowed with €10,000. The award was presented by Professor Barbara Albert, President of the GDCh, at a ceremony at Bayer Pharma AG in Wuppertal, Germany, on March 19, 2013.

Susanne Röhrig
studied at the Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Germany, and received her Ph.D. under the supervision of Peter Welzel from the University of Leipzig, Germany, in 1997. After postdoctoral work with Peter H. Seeberger, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Cambridge, MA., USA, she joined the Institute of Medicinal Chemistry at Bayer HealthCare Pharmaceuticals, Wuppertal, Germany.

Leave a Reply

Kindly review our community guidelines before leaving a comment.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *