Carl Duisberg Plaque for E. Wille

Carl Duisberg Plaque for E. Wille

Author: Jonathan Faiz/ChemViews

The Carl Duisberg Plaque is awarded by the board of the Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker (GDCh, German Chemical Society) to a chemist who has contributed to advancing chemistry and the objectives of the GDCh. The winner of the 2013 award is Dr. Eva Elisabeth Wille, Wiley-VCH, Weinheim, Germany.

Wille was recognized for her outstanding services to scientific publishing, including her involvement in the founding of Chemistry—A European Journal in 1995. Additionally, she was recognized for consolidating 14 traditional national society journals into ten pioneering European journals with global authors and readership. She was instrumental in founding and growing the ChemPubSoc Europe consortium, an organization of 16 European chemical societies, which owns these journals. She also played a key role in the launch of the Asian Chemical Editorial Society (ACES), a similar organization to ChemPubSoc Europe with 13 Asian chemical societies, and the website.

The award was presented by Professor Barbara Albert, President of the GDCh, at the Angewandte Symposium in Berlin, Germany, on March 12, 2013.

Eva Elisabeth Wille studied at the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, Germany, where she received her Ph.D. in 1983 for work supervised by Gerhard Binsch. After postdoctoral work with Dieter Ziessow at the Technische Universität Berlin, Germany, she joined VCH Verlagsgesellschaft (now Wiley-VCH) in 1985. She has held a range of positions with the company, including Head of the Journals Division and Publishing Director of Scientific, Technical, and Medical programs, and was jointly responsible for the development of the Wiley-VCH Blue and White book series. She is currently Vice President and Executive Director, Chemistry, at Wiley-VCH.

Wille is a board member of many professional bodies, including the Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels (German Publishers Association Library Board) and the Deutsche Fachpresse (German Business Media), whose Chair she was from 2006 to 2009.

View the award ceremony at the

Leave a Reply

Kindly review our community guidelines before leaving a comment.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *