Wöhler-Award for Younger Chemists

Wöhler-Award for Younger Chemists

Author: ChemViews

The Wöhler Division for Inorganic Chemistry awarded the Wöhler-Award for Younger Chemists 2010 to Dr. Jan J. Weigand, University of Münster, Germany, at the Wöhler Conference in Freiburg, Germany (29.09.–01.10.2010).

The award, which comprises a prize of € 5.000 donated by the GDCh division, is given to a scientists with a PhD for an excellent scientific publication in the field of inorganic chemistry. The publication has to be published at the time of the nomination but should not be older than one year.

The laudatory speech was given by Prof. H. Braunschweig, University of Würzburg, Germany, who emphasized that Weigand addressed a class of compounds that was difficult to access and, therefore, barely examined – cyclo-phosphinophosphonium salts. Weigand also found that phosphorus polycations have significant potential, for example, for activating smaller molecules.

Leave a Reply

Kindly review our community guidelines before leaving a comment.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *