Literary Prize: A. Behr, D. Agar and J. Jörissen

Literary Prize: A. Behr, D. Agar and J. Jörissen

Author: ChemistryViews/ image © Verband der Chemischen Industrie e.V. / Technische Universität Dortmund

Professor Arno Behr, Professor David Agar and Professor Jakob Jörissen, TU Dortmund University, Germany, have been awarded the literary prize 2011 by the Editorial Board of the Fonds der Chemischen Industrie in recognition of their textbook Einführung in die Technische Chemie (Introduction to Technical Chemistry), Spektrum Verlag, and for their efforts in promoting chemistry.

Arno Behr
(left), born 1952, studied chemistry at the Rheinisch-Westfälische Technische Hochschule, Aachen, Germany. He finished his Habilitation in 1986 and then joined Henkel KGaA. He became the main authorized person of the Henkel KGaA in 1991. Since 1992 Behr is Professor at the University of Dortmund.

David Agar
(right), born 1956, studied bioengineering at the University of Swansea in Wales, UK, and received his PhD from the University of Houston, TX, USA. After a one-year post-doc period in Pasadena, CA, USA, Ager joined the BASF, Ludwigshafen, Germany, for 16 years. Since 1997 he is Professor at the University of Dortmund.

Jakob Jörissen
(middle), born 1948, studied chemistry at the University of Dortmund. He completed his Habilitation in 1995. Since 2006 he is Professor at the University of Dortmund. 

The literary prize has been awarded 31 times since 1970. Last year’s prize has been awarded to Dr. Doris Fischer-Henningsen, Editor-in-Chief of Chemie in Unserer Zeit. Stefan Berger, who just celebrated his 65th birthday, received it together with Dieter Sicke for their book Classics in Spectroscopy in 2009. Of the 45 prize winners, 29 are connected to products from Wiley-VCH.

Leave a Reply

Kindly review our community guidelines before leaving a comment.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *