TCR Lecture 2017

TCR Lecture 2017

Author: ChemistryViews

The Chemical Record (TCR) Lecture award was initiated in 2002 shortly after the start of the journal The Chemical Record. It has become a high-profile series with a view to fostering international and interdisciplinary exchange.

The TCR Lecturer is selected annually by a committee consisting of the Editorial Board of The Chemical Record and the immediate past TCR Lecturer. The lecture takes place annually as part of the Spring Meeting of the Chemical Society of Japan (CSJ).

The 2017 TCR Lecturer is Professor Helma Wennemers, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) Zurich, Switzerland.


Helma Wennemers studied chemistry at the University of Frankfurt, Germany. She received her Ph.D. from Columbia University, New York, USA, in 1996 under the supervision of W. Clark Still. She performed postdoctoral research with Hisashi Yamamoto at Nagoya University, Japan. In 1999, she became Assistant Professor at the University of Basel, Switzerland, and was promoted to Associate Professor in 2003. Since 2011, she has been Professor of Organic Chemistry at ETH Zurich.

Her research interests include asymmetric catalysis, chemical biology, new synthetic materials, and metal nanoparticles. Among other honors, Professor Wennemers has received the Leonidas Zervas Award from the European Peptide Society in 2010, the EurJOC Lecture Award from the European Journal of Organic Chemistry in 2014, and the Pedler Award from the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) in 2016. She is a Fellow of ChemPubSoc Europe and a Member of the International Advisory Board of The Chemical Record.


The TCR Lecture series has included many renowned speakers from a wide range of fields in chemistry:

  • 2016: David MacMillan, Princeton University, USA
  • 2015: Scott J. Miller, Yale University, New Haven, USA
  • 2014: Scott A. Snyder, The Scripps Research Institute, Jupiter, USA
  • 2013: Andrew B. Holmes, University of Melbourne, Australia
  • 2012: E.W. “Bert” Meijer, Eindhoven University of Technology, NL
  • 2010: Hisashi Yamamoto, University of Chicago, USA
  • 2009: Gabor Somorjai, University of California, Berkeley, USA
  • 2008: Michel Rohmer, Univ. Louis Pasteur, Strasbourg, France
  • 2006: Anthony R. West, University of Sheffield, UK
  • 2005: Malcolm Chisholm, Ohio State University, USA
  • 2005: Bruno Scrosati, University of Rome “La Sapienza”, Italy
  • 2004: Robert M. Metzger, University of Alabama, USA
  • 2004: Koji Nakanishi, Columbia University, USA
  • 2004: Christian Wandrey, Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH, Germany, USA
  • 2003: Gerhard Ertl, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, Germany, USA
  • 2003: Reinhard Hoffmann, Philipps-Universität Marburg, Germany
  • 2003: Yuan T. Lee, Academia Sinica, Taiwan
  • 2002: Roy H. Doi, University of California, Davis, USA
  • 2002: Steven V. Ley, Cambridge University, UK

See a list of all awards Wiley is involved in


Leave a Reply

Kindly review our community guidelines before leaving a comment.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *