Awards Wiley Is Involved In

EROS Best Reagent Award

awarded annually
Sponsored by Aldrich® Chemistry and John Wiley & Sons, the EROS Best Reagent Award was created to honour the work of the authors to the online edition of Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis (e-EROS). The Editorial Board selects their favorite reagents from all submitted e-EROS articles and the resulting shortlist is then voted on by the Award Committee.

  • EROS Best Reagent Lecture 2011: Paul Knochel, Ludwig Maximilians University, Munich, Germany
  • EROS Best Reagent Lecture 2012: Bruce H. Lipshutz, University of California, Santa Barbara USA
  • EROS Best Reagent Award 2013: Huw Davis, Emory University, USA
  • EROS Best Reagent Award 2014: Corey R. J. Stephenson, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, USA
  • EROS Best Reagent Award 2015: Phil S. Baran, The Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla, CA, USA
  • EROS Best Reagent Award 2017: Michael Organ, York University, Toronto, ON, Canada
  • EROS Best Reagent Award 2018: Robert H. Crabtree, Yale University, New Haven, CT, USA
  • EROS Best Reagent Award 2019: Scott E. Denmark, University of Illinois, Urbana, USA
  • EROS Best Reagent Award 2020: Franziska Schoenebeck, RWTH Aachen University, Germany

all awards


The Chemical Record (TCR) Lecture

awarded annually
established with a view to fostering international and interdisciplinary exchange; began in 2002 shortly after the start of the journal The Chemical Record

  • TCR Lecture 2012: Bert W. Meijer, Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands
  • TCR Lecture 2013: Andrew B. Holmes, University of Melbourne, Australia
  • TCR Lecture 2014: Scott A. Snyder, The Scripps Research Institute, Jupiter, USA
  • TCR Lecture 2015: Scott J. Miller, Yale University, New Haven, CT, USA
  • TCR Lecture 2016: David MacMillan, Princeton University, USA
  • TCR Lecture 2017: Helma Wennemers, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • TCR Lecture 2018: Michael Grätzel, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), Switzerland
  • TCR Lecture 2019: Keiji Maruoka, Kyoto University, Japan
  • TCR Lecture 2020: Benjamin List, Max Planck Institute for Coal Research, Mülheim an der Ruhr, Germany
  • TCR Lecture 2022: Varinder Aggarwal, Bristol University, UK
  • TCR Lecture 2023: Ilan Marek, Technion—Israel Institute of Technology, Haifa, Israel
  • TCR Lecture 2024: Veronique Gouverneur, University of Oxford, UK

Full list of awardees since 2002


Korean Chemical Society (KSC)-Wiley Young Chemist Award

awarded annually

two winners under the age of 40, who hold a Ph.D. degree in chemistry, and are of Korean nationality are selected for their outstanding achievements and contributions to the community


Wiley-Chemical Society of Thailand (Wiley-CST) Award for Contributions to Green Chemistry

awarded annually

aims to encourage and recognize the brilliant, inventive and ground-breaking research work of young Thai chemists in green chemistry


Wiley Prize in Biomedical Sciences

awarded annually

recognizes contributions that have opened new fields of research or have advanced concepts in a particular biomedical discipline. Six times someone has gone on to win a Nobel after winning the Prize.

  • Wiley Prize in Biomedical Sciences 2016: Yoshinori Ohsumi (2016 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine), Tokyo, Japan
  • Wiley Prize in Biomedical Sciences 2017: Joachim Frank (2017 Nobel Prize in Chemistry), Columbia University, New York, USA, Richard Henderson (2017 Nobel Prize in Chemistry), MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge, UK, and Marin van Heel, National Nanotechnology Laboratory, Campinas, Brazil, Institute of Biology, Leiden, The Netherlands, and Imperial College London, UK
  • Wiley Prize in Biomedical Sciences 2018: Lynne E. Maquat, University of Rochester, NY, USA
  • Wiley Prize in Biomedical Sciences 2019: Svante Pääbo, Max-Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology in Leipzig, Germany, and David Reich, Harvard Medical School, Boston, MA, USA
  • Wiley Prize in Biomedical Sciences 2020: Clifford Brangwynne, Princeton University, NJ, USA, and Howard Hughes Medical Institute, USA, Tony Hyman, Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics, Dresden, Germany, and Michael Rosen, UT Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas, TX, USA, and Howard Hughes Medical Institute.
  • Wiley Prize in Biomedical Sciences 2022: David Baker, University of Washington, Seattle, USA, Demis Hassabis, and John Jumper, both DeepMind Technologies Limited, London, UK
  • Wiley Prize in Biomedical Sciences 2023: Michael Welsh, University of Iowa, USA, and Paul Negulescu, Fredrick Van Goor, and Sabine Hadida, Vertex Pharmaceuticals, Boston, USA
  • Wiley Prize in Biomedical Sciences 2024: Judith Kimble, University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA, Allan Spradling, USA, and Raymond Schofield, Holt Radium Institute, Manchester, UK, for their discovery of the stem cell niche, a localized environment that controls stem-cell identity.

Full list of awardees since 2002


Ryoji Noyori ACES Award

awarded biannually

recognizes outstanding work in chemistry; established to honor Professor Noyori’s instrumental role in nurturing the collaborative ACES spirit