TCR Lecture 2018

TCR Lecture 2018

Author: ChemistryViews

The 2018 TCR Lecturer is Michael Grätzel, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), Switzerland.

The Chemical Record (TCR) Lecture award was initiated in 2002 shortly after the start of the journal The Chemical Record. It has become a high-profile series with a view to fostering international and interdisciplinary exchange.

The TCR Lecturer is selected by a committee consisting of the Editorial Board of The Chemical Record and the immediate past TCR Lecturer. The lecture takes place annually as part of the Spring Meeting of the Chemical Society of Japan (CSJ).


Michael Grätzel studied chemistry at the Free University Berlin, Germany, and received his Ph.D. in 1971 from the Technical University of Berlin. He worked as a postdoctoral researcher at the University of Notre Dame, IN, USA, and joined the Free University Berlin as Lecturer in 1975. In 1977, he moved to EPFL as Associate Professor and was promoted to Full Professor of Physical Chemistry in 1981. Grätzel is Director of the Laboratory of Photonics and Interfaces there. His research focuses on photovoltaic cells, water splitting, and energy storage.

Among many other honors, Grätzel received the Paracelsus Prize in 2016, the Albert Einstein World Award of Science from the World Cultural Council in 2012, the Millennium Technology Grand Prize from Technology Academy Finland in 2010, and the Balzan Prize from the International Balzan Prize Foundation in 2009, as well as several honorary doctorates. He is a Chairman of the Editorial Board of ChemPhysChem and a Member of the International Advisory Board of Angewandte Chemie.


The TCR Lecture series has included many renowned speakers from a wide range of fields in chemistry:

  • 2017: Helma Wennemers, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • 2016: David MacMillan, Princeton University, USA
  • 2015: Scott J. Miller, Yale University, New Haven, USA
  • 2014: Scott A. Snyder, The Scripps Research Institute, Jupiter, USA
  • 2013: Andrew B. Holmes, University of Melbourne, Australia
  • 2012: E.W. “Bert” Meijer, Eindhoven University of Technology, NL
  • 2010: Hisashi Yamamoto, University of Chicago, USA
  • 2009: Gabor Somorjai, University of California, Berkeley, USA
  • 2008: Michel Rohmer, Univ. Louis Pasteur, Strasbourg, France
  • 2006: Anthony R. West, University of Sheffield, UK
  • 2005: Malcolm Chisholm, Ohio State University, USA
  • 2005: Bruno Scrosati, University of Rome “La Sapienza”, Italy
  • 2004: Robert M. Metzger, University of Alabama, USA
  • 2004: Koji Nakanishi, Columbia University, USA
  • 2004: Christian Wandrey, Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH, Germany, USA
  • 2003: Gerhard Ertl, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, Germany, USA
  • 2003: Reinhard Hoffmann, Philipps-Universität Marburg, Germany
  • 2003: Yuan T. Lee, Academia Sinica, Taiwan
  • 2002: Roy H. Doi, University of California, Davis, USA
  • 2002: Steven V. Ley, Cambridge University, UK


Leave a Reply

Kindly review our community guidelines before leaving a comment.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *