The Chemical Record Lecture: Andrew B. Holmes

The Chemical Record Lecture: Andrew B. Holmes

Author: ChemistryViews

Professor Andrew B. Holmes, University of Melbourne, Australia, will give The Chemical Record Lecture (TCR Lecture) 2013. This prestigious lectureship began in 2002 shortly after the start of the journal The Chemical Record and was established to foster international and interdisciplinary exchange. Professor Holmes was nominated for the lectureship on the basis of the interdisciplinary nature of his research, which bridges materials and biological sciences, and for his many contributions in the areas of organic electronics and polymers.

His talk is titled Conjugated Organic Materials for Light Emission and Light Harvesting. Prof. Holmes’ lecture will take place as part of the 2013 Annual Meeting of the Chemical Society of Japan. The full details are as follows:

March 23, 2013, 3:30–4:20 pm
Ritsumeikan University, Biwako-Kusatsu Campus
Co-Learning House I C103


Andrew Holmes was as an undergraduate at the University of Melbourne, Australia, a Ph.D. student with Professor Franz Sondheimer at University College London, UK, and a Royal Society European Postdoctoral Fellow at the ETH-Zürich, Switzerland, with Professor A. Eschenmoser. He joined the faculty of Cambridge University, UK, in 1972 where he remained for thirty-two years, ending his time there as Professor of Organic and Polymer Chemistry and Director of the Melville Laboratory for Polymer Synthesis.

He is currently a CSIRO (Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation) Fellow at CSIRO Materials Science and Engineering, Professor at the University of Melbourne, and Distinguished Research Fellow at Imperial College London, UK. He is a member of the Advisory Boards of The Chemical Record, Bull. Chem. Soc. Japan and Angewandte Chemie.

Holmes’ research interests involve applications of synthesis to materials science and biology. He has made extensive contributions in the area of light emitting and photovoltaic devices.


The TCR Lecture is a prestigious series that features renowned speakers from a wide range of fields in chemistry. The full history of the TCR Lecture series has a diverse international representation and includes two Nobel Prize winners.

  • Malcolm Chisholm Ohio State University, USA 2005
  • Roy H. Doi University of California, Davis, USA 2002
  • Gerhard Ertl Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, Germany 2003
  • Reinhard Hoffmann Philipps-Univ. Marburg, Germany 2003
  • Yuan T. Lee Academia Sinica, Taiwan 2003
  • Steven V. Ley Cambridge University, UK 2002
  • E. W. “Bert” Meijer Eindhoven Univ. of Technology, NL 2012
  • Robert M. Metzger University of Alabama, USA 2004
  • Koji Nakanishi Columbia University, USA 2004
  • Michel Rohmer Univ. Louis Pasteur, Strasbourg, France 2008
  • Bruno Scrosati Univ. of Rome “La Sapienza”, Italy 2005
  • Gabor Somorjai University of California, Berkeley, USA 2009
  • Christian Wandrey Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH, Germany 2004
  • Anthony R. West University of Sheffield, UK 2006
  • Hisashi Yamamoto University of Chicago, USA 2010

Leave a Reply

Kindly review our community guidelines before leaving a comment.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *