Medal of the Czech Chemical Society Awarded

Medal of the Czech Chemical Society Awarded

Author: Pavel Drasar (Photo: © Pavel Matejka)

Christopher Brett, Coimbra University, Portugal, and President-Elect of the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC), has been awarded the Medal of the Czech Chemical Society (Česká Společnost Chemická, CCS).

The Medal is the highest award of the CCS and is awarded to individuals who have contributed significantly to the chemical and related sciences and who have contributed to the Czech chemical community and the CCS. Brett is not only a well-known electrochemist, but he also is a long time collaborator with the Czech chemical community who takes part in the society’s scientific meetings and supports the mobility of Czech chemists.

The award was presented at the European Chemistry Thematic Network (ECTN) General Assembly meeting on April 21, 2018, where Brett gave an invited plenary lecture that highlighted the necessity of global collaboration of all chemists and scientists. He also stressed the role of IUPAC in many chemical disciplines and in supporting the global knowledge exchange between chemists. Brett also underlined the role of IUPAC in the educational process.

Christopher Brett studied chemistry at the University of Oxford, UK, where he received a D.Phil. degree in electrochemistry in 1981 under the supervision of John Albery. The same year, he was appointed to a Lectureship in Chemistry at Coimbra University. There, he received a D.Sc. degree in 2002.

Brett’s research interests include novel electrode materials, electrochemical enzyme biosensors, sensors for the electroanalysis of trace species, metallic corrosion and its inhibition, dental amalgams in biological fluids, electrochemistry in ionic liquids and deep eutectic solvents, and the kinetics and mechanisms of electrode processes.

Brett is the Director of the Laboratory of Electroanalysis and Corrosion, Instituto Pedro Nunes, Coimbra, Portugal, President-Elect of IUPAC, and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, UK. He was President of the International Society of Electrochemistry (ISE) in 2007 and 2008, and President of the Analytical Division of the Portuguese Chemical Society (Sociedade Portuguesa de Química, SPQ) from 1996 to 1999 and from 2003 to 2005.

Selected Publications


Leave a Reply

Kindly review our community guidelines before leaving a comment.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *