KCS-Wiley Young Chemist Awards 2015

KCS-Wiley Young Chemist Awards 2015

Author: ChemViews

The KCS-Wiley Young Chemist Awards are presented annually by the Korean Chemical Society (KCS) and John Wiley & Sons. They are awarded to two young Korean scientists under the age of 40 for outstanding achievements and contributions to the community.

This year, the awards were presented to Assistant Professor Jun Soo Kim, Ewha Womans University, Seoul, and Associate Professor Mi Hee Lim, Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology (UNIST), at the 116th KCS General Meeting in Deagu, South Korea, October 14–16, 2015.


Jun Soo Kim

Jun Soo Kim studied chemistry at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA, where he received his Ph.D. in 2009. After postdoctoral research at Northwestern University, Evanston, IL, USA, he joined Ewha Womans University, Seoul, South Korea, as Assistant Professor in the Department of Chemistry and Nanoscience in 2011.

His research interests include computational chemistry and biophysical chemistry. He has performed simulations of biological systems, as well as of ice growth.


Mi Hee Lim

Mi Hee Lim studied chemistry at Ewha Womans University, Seoul, South Korea, and received her Ph.D. at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Cambridge, MA, USA, under the supervision of Stephen J. Lippard. She then performed postdoctoral research at the California Institute of Technology (Caltech), Pasadena, CA, USA, with Jacqueline K. Barton and joined the Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology (UNIST), Ulsan, South Korea, as Associate Professor of Chemistry.

Her fields of research are bioinorganic chemistry and chemical biology, specifically metalloneurochemistry in human health and therapeutics for neurodegenerative diseases such as Alzheimer’s.


Selected Publications by Jun Soo Kim


Selected Publications by Mi Hee Lim

See a list of all awards Wiley is involved in


Leave a Reply

Kindly review our community guidelines before leaving a comment.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *