Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering

Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering

Author: ChemistryViews

The new global £1m (USS1.6 m) prize named after the British Queen recognises outstanding advances in engineering that have changed the world and benefited humanity. The prize will celebrate the best and also serve to illuminate the sheer excitement of modern engineering. It will be awarded biannually to an individual or team of up to three people.

The prize is funded by an endowment from a number of engineering companies. The Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering Foundation has overall responsibility for the prize and the board of trustees is chaired by Lord Browne of Madingley. The day-to-day running of the prize is managed by the Queen Elizabeth Prize team at The Royal Academy of Engineering, London, UK.

The prize is open to engineers from across the spectrum of disciplines from anywhere in the world. The main restriction is that it can’t be awarded posthumously. Nominations are now open and will close on 14 September 2012.

For those thinking about making a nomination, IChemE president Sir William Wakeham, who chairs the search committee for the prize for the Royal Academy of Engineering, has the following advice: “First think of the achievement of engineering that you feel should be recognized and then identify the group of up to three people who you believe did most to deliver it.”

The UK’s Prime Minister, David Cameron, commented: “I am delighted that the Queen has put her name to this prestigious prize, which I hope will carry the same stature as the Nobel Prizes.”

Also of Interest

Leave a Reply

Kindly review our community guidelines before leaving a comment.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *