Novartis Early Career Award in Organic Chemistry 2012

  • Author: Novartis
  • Published: 03 December 2012
  • Copyright: Wiley-VCH Verlag GmbH & Co. KGaA, Weinheim
  • Source / Publisher: Novartis
  • Associated Suppliers: Novartis AG, Basel, Switzerland
thumbnail image: Novartis Early Career Award in Organic Chemistry 2012

(News by Novartis)

Novartis is pleased to announce the 2012 recipients of the Novartis Early Career Award in Organic Chemistry


Sarah Reisman, Caltech, Novartis Early Career Award winnerProfessor Sarah E. Reisman,
California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, CA, USA

Sarah Reisman earned her Ph.D. in 2006 from Yale University in the research group of Professor John Wood. For her  postdoctoral work she pursued studies at Harvard University as a NIH fellow, working with Professor Eric Jacobsen. In 2008,  Sarah began her independent career at the California Institute of Technology and has gone on to build an excellent reputation  as one of the leaders in natural product synthesis, addressing complex total synthesis problems with innovative approaches as well as the development of new synthetic methods.

Corey Stephenson, Boston University, Novartis Early Career Award winnerProfessor Corey R. J. Stephenson,
Boston University, Boston, MA, USA

Corey Stephenson earned his Ph.D. in 2004 from the University of Pittsburgh working with Professor Peter Wipf. He went on  to postdoctoral studies at ETH Zürich working with Professor Erick Carreira. In 2007 Corey joined the Department of  Chemistry at Boston University as an Assistant Professor, and is a co-principle investigator for Boston University’s Center for  Methodologies and Library Development. Since this time he has emerged as a leader in the field of visible-light activated  redox chemistry, developing new photocatalysts and synthetic methods for use in the synthesis of natural products.

The Novartis Early Career Award in Organic Chemistry is presented annually to outstanding scientists within 10 years of having established an independent academic research career, in the areas of organic or bioorganic chemistry in the  broadest sense. Two winners are identified, from the Global Research community, each of whom receives an unrestricted research grant.

Past Awardees: David Chen, Seoul National University (2011); David Spiegel, Yale University (2011); Karl Gademann,  University of Basel (2010); Jin-Quan Yu, The Scripps Research Institute (2010); Magnus Rueping, RWTH Aachen University (2009); Christopher J. Chang, University of California, Berkeley (2009); Matthew J. Gaunt, University of Cambridge (2008); Jeffrey S. Johnson, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (2008); Lukas J. Goossen, Technische Universität Kaiserslautern (2007); Anna K. Mapp, University of Michigan Ann Arbor (2007); Armido Studer, University of Münster (2006); F. Dean Toste, University of California Berkeley (2006); Benjamin List, Max Planck Institute Mülheim (2005); Dirk Trauner, University of California Berkeley (2005); J. Stephen Clark, University of Nottingham (2004); Jonathan P. Clayden, University of Manchester (2004); Thorsten Bach, Technical University of Munich (2003); Bernhard Breit, University of Freiburg (2002);  Thomas Carell, University of Munich (2002).

Article Views: 6396

Sign in Area

Please sign in below

Additional Sign In options

Please note that to comment on an article you must be registered and logged in.
Registration is for free, you may already be registered to receive, e.g., the newsletter. When you register on this website, please ensure you view our terms and conditions. All comments are subject to moderation.

Article Comments - To add a comment please sign in

If you would like to reuse any content, in print or online, from, please contact us first for permission and consult our permission guidance prior to making your request

Follow on Facebook Follow on Twitter Follow on YouTube Follow on LinkedIn Follow on Instagram RSS Sign up for newsletters

Magazine of Chemistry Europe (16 European Chemical Societies) published by Wiley-VCH