Novartis Early Career Award in Organic Chemistry 2014

Novartis Early Career Award in Organic Chemistry 2014

Author: Novartis

Novartis is pleased to announce the 2014 recipients of the Novartis Early Career Award in Organic Chemistry


Professor Ryan A. Shenvi, The Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla, CA, USA

Ryan Shenvi earned his Ph.D. in 2008 in the group of Phil Baran at The Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla. He then joined the group of E. J. Corey at Harvard University as a NIH postdoctoral fellow. In 2010, Ryan began his independent career at The Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla. His research focuses on creating new chemical reactions to access terpene and pseudoalkaloid complex molecules, as well as the synthesis of natural product scaffolds with biological activity toward neglected tropical diseases.

Professor Daniel J. Weix, University of Rochester, Rochester, NY, USA

Dan Weix earned his Ph.D. in 2005 from the University of California, Berkeley, working with Professor Jonathan Ellman. He went on to postdoctoral studies with Professor John Hartwig as a NIH fellow at Yale University and the University of Illinois, Urbana. In 2008 Dan joined the Department of Chemistry at the University of Rochester. His research interests include methods development and concurrent tandem catalysis, with a focus on developing coupling reactions that will find immediate use in academia and industry, using stable and readily available starting materials.

The Novartis Early Career Award in Organic Chemistry is given annually to outstanding scientists within 10 years of having established an independent academic research career in the areas of organic or bioorganic chemistry in the broadest sense. Two awardees are identified each year from the global research community, each of whom receives an unrestricted research grant.

Past Awardees

2013 Nicolai Cramer and Daniel Rauh’
2012 Sarah E. Reisman and Corey R.J. Stephenson
2011 David Chen and David Spiegel
2010 Karl Gademann and Jin-Quan Yu
2009 Christopher J. Chang and Magnus Rueping
2008 Matthew J. Gaunt and Jeffrey S. Johnson
2007 Lukas J. Goossen and Anna K. Mapp
2006 Armido Studer and F. Dean Toste
2005 Benjamin List and Dirk Trauner
2004 J. Stephen Clark and Jonathan P. Clayden
2003 Thorsten Bach
2002 Bernhard Breit and Thomas Carell
2001 Tim Donohoe
2000 Andrew Miller
1999 Alan Armstrong
1998 Mark Bradley






Sponsored content is not written by and does not necessarily reflect the views of ChemistryViews’s editorial staff.

Leave a Reply

Kindly review our community guidelines before leaving a comment.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *