Erich Hückel Prize for Gernot Frenking

Erich Hückel Prize for Gernot Frenking

Author: ChemistryViews (Photo: Bildarchiv Foto Marburg)

Gernot Frenking, University of Marburg, Germany, has received the Erich Hückel Award 2020 from the Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker (GDCh, German Chemical Society). The award was presented at the online 57th Symposium on Theoretical Chemistry on September 22, 2021.

The Erich Hückel Award is endowed with EUR 7,500 and honors outstanding achievements in the field of theoretical chemistry.  Frenking is recognized for his outstanding contributions to solving current problems in chemistry through the application of modern quantum-chemical methods. His research is focused on bond theory, in particular, on molecules with unusual chemical bonds.

Gernot Frenking studied chemistry at the Rheinisch-Westfälische Technische Hochschule (RWTH) Aachen, Germany, and received his Ph.D. from the Technical University Berlin, Germany, in 1979 for theoretical work on phosphorus compounds. He finished his habilitation, also at the Technical University Berlin, in 1984. After one year as Visiting Scientist at the University of California, Berkeley, USA, working with Henry F. Schaefer III, he joined the Stanford Research Institute, Menlo Park, CA, USA, as Staff Scientist in 1985.

In 1990, Gernot Frenking became Professor for Computational Chemistry at the University of Marburg, Germany, and in 1998, was named Full Professor for Theoretical Chemistry there. He remained in Marburg until his retirement in 2014. He continues his research there as Professor Emeritus and also serves as Ikerbasque Visiting Research Professor at the Donostia International Physics Center (DIPC), San Sebastian, Spain, and as Visiting Research Professor at Nanjing Tech University, China.

Among other honors, Professor Frenking has received the Elhuyar-Goldschmidt Prize from the Real Sociedad Española de Química (Spanish Royal Society of Chemistry, RSEQ) in 2007, the Schrödinger Medal from WATOC (World Association of Theoretical and Computational Chemists) in 2009, and the Hans Hellman Research Professorship Award of the University of Marburg in 2012. Among other commitments, he serves on the Editorial Board of the International Journal of Quantum Chemistry and as Editor of the Journal of Computational Chemistry.

Selected Publications

Also of Interest



Leave a Reply

Kindly review our community guidelines before leaving a comment.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *